We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cromwells Hotel, bar, restaurant and gardens
Review Highlights
Excellent Value

Decided to have a mini break In Shrewsbury as had visited there before. We could not get a... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2017
vivairons
,
wales
Comfortable room, great location

Our stay didn't start too well as we had chosen Cromwell's as it came up on the list of hotels with... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2017
JMNMSarisbury
,
Locks Heath, United Kingdom
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
5
2
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Our stay didn't start too well as we had chosen Cromwell's as it came up on the list of hotels with parking, however this is not true. Parking is in a long term public car park at the bottom of a steep hill about 10 minutes walk away and costs £10 per day. When we commented about this we were told that the hotel only says "parking is available". On this basis, anywhere can say that! That said, our room was lovely with a beautiful four poster bed, which was enormous and very comfortable. The hotel is very old with all the floors sloping - ours must have dropped about 2 feet from the top of the room to the bottom of the en suite. Breakfast was very tasty and filled us up for the day. There is a nice garden terrace area where we had a tasty lunch. Overall, the hotel was very comfortable and the service good. The hotel is in a good location, very central and walking distance to most of the sights and close to good restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank JMNMSarisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

I was in charge of organising my friends hen party. We'd heard good reviews about Cromwell's so we decided on having food and drinks here to start our night off. We opted for a selection of sharing platters which were to die for!!!The Restaurant Manager Dan was fantastic at helping us to organise everything and he ensured everything ran smoothly. I'd 100% recommend Cromwell's, the food is amazing and all the staff are friendly and will do anything for you. A massive thank you Dan and your team for a brilliant start to our night.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank P4680TWlauraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

It was a warm day so chose Cromwell's to eat because of the garden terrace. We have had dinner here, and it always seems popular. It was very busy this day, but we managed to get a table for two in the sun. After a while we were informed that there would be a 45 minute delay on food, but we chose to stay as we were in no hurry, and the beer (I think it was Coracle) was delicious. Even though the delay was extensive, the staff kept us informed along the way. After our orders were taken, the food came quite quickly and was definitely worth the wait. I had the fish and chips, the fish was large and perfectly cooked, all in all a good meal.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Jeanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2015

Really enjoyed previous visits but seemed to have had a change of waiting staff recently. We had poor service as she rarely looked up, mumbled and hadn't been well trained. Starters were good but roast dinners were of not of such good quality as before. Tried to make barman aware but not really interested. Shame as had really enjoyed going to Cromwells and have recommended to a number of friends.

Date of experience: April 2015
3  Thank Gaynor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelJAvery, Front Office Manager at Cromwells Hotel, bar, restaurant and gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Can you refer me to your many previous positive experiences? I can't find them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews