We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with attentive helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited here several times during our stay in Shrewsbury this week , but only for a drink and a meal we did not stay here.

On Thursday evening we called here and fancied a Steak for supper but were disappointed when the server told us they had no steaks left!! i looked up j d wetherspoon on my phone and discovered that they had another pub in the town so i asked a member of staff how far away it was and she said 30 seconds and proceeded to tell us the way we told her we were going there as they had no steak's lleft and she immediately asked us if we prefered to stay here she would go over there and get Steak's for us !! as the atmosphere here was good we took her up on her offer and settled down with our drink's whils they cooke our meal.

It turn's out that the lady concerned (Sue) was the Manager and she certainly went beyond the norm in making our visit perfect, no wonder she is the Manager.

The food turned up and was gorgeous as was the wine that accompanied it.

We visited again last night for a drink and Sue came over and spent some time chatting with us , reading the reviews on here for this establishment pleases me as it is evident that Sue and her team excell in customer service at all times .

Sue if you read this this thanks again from us Eifion & Belinda WILLIAMS (Wales)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hi Eifion & Belinda many thanks for your lovely feedback, Sue sends her best wishes and says dont forget to visit us again and it was a pleasure to be able to make your visit an enjoyable one :-) Regards Jane & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 698 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you're ever looking for a hotel in Shrewsbury, look no further. Modern, clean and functional rooms at a great price.
We are nine golfers who stayed for two nights.
The bonus of staying in a JDW hotel is you get the added value of good beer and food (if you want to eat in) at reasonable prices. Plus, here we had free parking.
If any golfers read my review we played Oswestry, Shrewsbury and on our way back to the West Midlands, Astbury Hall. I dealt direct with everyone and with breakfast at the three golf clubs, golf and hotel it cost us £190 each.
Everything was great (except my golf that is!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi, Thank you for your feedback we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us too :-) regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We booked The Shrewsbury Hotel as it was only £39 for a twin room through Laterooms and it was only a base gor a girly shopping trip. It was a first time stopping in a Weatherspoons hotel and to be honest we weren't expecting much as Weatherspoons are generally chesp and cheerful. We were checked in quickly and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel but we didn't mind, the room was clean and decorated lovely with good facilities. We chose to have our evening meal in the bar which was lovely as was the breakfast the following morning. All staff were pleasant service was quick and the food was served on hot plates. If we had to criticise anything it would be the disturbed nights sleep due to the room being do warm. We left both windows open but it was unbearable warm, maybe a fan in the room would have helped. Having said that we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi, Thank you for your feed back and we are pleased that you enjoyed your first stay in a Wetherspoons Hotel. Due to this lovely summer we are now having we have put a fan in each bedroom. Hope to see you again soon, regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Went in for a bite and a pint before going to see Billy Ocean at The Buttermarket.Found a table and went to order drinks before looking at the menu.Quickly got served by a friendly barmaid.The real ale was very good.Looked at the extensive menu and settled on the all day brunch for him indoors,chicken strips and chips for my son and a club sandwich for myself.Ordered the food at the bar and waited a short time for the meals to be delivered to the table.Good pub grub.Tasty and hot at very reasonable prices.Another pint each and we where all set for a great night.This is a great place for a meal and drink with a good atmosphere.With the nice weather a lot of people had chosen to sit outside.It's in a great location for people watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time in our bar and hope that you had a great night seeing Billy Ocean, we look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Regards Jane & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed overnight at the Shrewsbury Hotel on Easter Sunday. We booked through late rooms as the price was only £39.00 cheaper than Wetherspoon's website and booked a family room (same price as double room and much more space).

Upon arrival we managed to get a parking space on the pub car park, although this is not guaranteed but there are plenty of public car parks within walking distance. The receptionist was very informative and checked up in swiftly and efficiently. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the car park and the river. We have no complaints about the room very spacious, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and free WI-fi. The room was spotless and would definitely stay there again.

We had dinner and breakfast in the pub and the food was also very nice. Great base for a bit of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondie-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi, thank you for your recent feedback we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again in the near future. Regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We popped in before going to see Quill at Theatre Severn.They had a beer festival on and some very interesting sounding real ales.We settled on Czech Mate which was gorgeous.The pub and restaurant is very nicely laid out.The staff are very friendly and helpful.We did not eat on this occasion but the menu looked really good and we will be back to dine in May when we go to see Billy Ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thankyou for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Jane & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in a Wetherspoons Hotel and we weren't disappointed. We found the Shrewsbury Hotel very nice and comfortable.
First impressions were good with the reception and public areas smart and tidy.
Our room although cosy was very well furnished and contemporary, and we loved it. Both the bedroom and bathroom were very modern with free Wifi and complimentary mineral water and tea/coffee facilities. The bed was comfy and there was decent wardrobe space.
We had room 202 which overlooked the car park and River Severn across the road, so it was a nice view. The room was very warm though and did lack a fan, so we had the window open and had to turn the heater off. Also, the television was fixed quite high on the wall, so to see the Lcd picture half clearly you had to sit right up in bed. The menus for the Wetherspoons pub attached to the Hotel, were also in the rooms, which is clever.
We liked the fact you could only access the Hotel from the pub using your room card, this is good security.
The pub also serves till 1am on a Fri & Sat evening. You can also open a tab at reception upon check in and charge drinks/food to your room. The check in/check out times are good as well, 2pm check in and 11am checkout. The Hotel is in a good location, a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and close to a few bars and of course the shops.
We paid £69 room only for a Saturday evening, which worked out cheaper than the new Premier Inn, which is just down the road.
The rooms are only £39 on a Sunday. That would be very good value for money.
We will stay here again, when in the area, as the room was very nice, and the location was good. And of course it has the added bonus of a pub restaurant attached to it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Regards Jane & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
1.0 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $64 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing