We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$135
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$65
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haughmond(Upton Magna)
$119
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
336
308
71
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
308
71
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcar parkfire doorsriver viewbiscuitswelsh bridgesunday nightbottled waterno liftfamily roomnice roomlady on receptionideal locationtown centregood sizebusy roadstayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 753 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay just been refurbished bathroom is clean and large room,which is hard to find, bedroom again good size, flat screen tv,bottles of water, tea coffee in your room,big comfy bed,I was amazed how good this place was to stay, also on doorstep to all attractions, will definitely go back very soon and recommend to family and friends, money well spent......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our newly refurbished rooms, looking forward to seeing you again. Regards Jane & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Shrewsbury for one night. The hotel receptionist was very friendly, efficient and helpful. I had requested a room with a view of the river and this was accommodated. We had room 102, it was quite small but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was a good size. The room and the hotel was absolutely spotless!! Bed was very comfy. Even though we are above a busy pub that doesn't close until 1 am, noise was not a problem. The windows are double glazed and the bedroom door keeps most of the noise of other guests out. Hotel guests have direct access to the bar from the hotel using your room key card which is handy. We only had drinks in the bar however the food looked pretty good....standard Weatherspoons, you know what you're getting and its always good value wherever you are.

The car park out the front is quite small and it was very busy when we arrived, however we still found a space and was given a parking permit by reception.

Excellent location, close to the town centre and next to the river.

Would definitely stay here again and in any other hotel run by Weatherspoons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to greeting you again soon kind regards from Jane & The Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in for tea Lovely meal never disappoints me. Beer prices are fab. Clean bar and happy staff always willing to help recommend food/ beer of the many menus.

Have not had a night in the hotel as I only live down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Toptotty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your your feedback and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited Shrewsbury recently on buisness and the accommodation was booked by our clerk. Almost appologetically she informed me it was the closest to meeting venue (as I had requested) but that it was a Wetherspoons. Well anyone visiting the area would be foolish to overlook the fine hotel, bonus was the bar and food all at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just had a fantastic birthday weekend at the Shrewsbury Hotel. On arrival we were met by a most enthusiastic receptionist very bubbly and a font of knowledge about the town and sights most welcome as we didnt know Shrewsbury at all.We were quickly booked into our room which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard .The decor was tastefull and the en suite was equally as tastefull very modern and impeccably clean .There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room plus still and bottled water that can be replaced at any time just ask at reception .The feather duvets and pillows were so comfortable as were the fluffy perfectly white towels in the bathroom there is also a hair drier in the room and should you need an iron or ironing board this can be borrowed from reception .The bar and grill were equally as good with all members of staff going that extra mile to make sure everything was perfect such a pleasant change to see people actually proud of the job and service they were providing .Although during our stay renovation of the bedrooms continued we were never disturbed at all .This was our first visit to the Shrewsbury Hotel but certainly wont be the last we had a lovely time thanks to the management and staff and will be returning later in the year ...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayCummings403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are so glad that you chose us to stay with and celebrate your birthday weekend and that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly refurbished rooms, looking forward to seeing you both
soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews