We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable hotel on fringe of town centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shrewsbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable hotel on fringe of town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I called the hotel to book, I was quoted a price of £64 for a single room for a night, but the helpful lady I was talking to suggested that I would get a better price online, which I did - £42.88. This did not include breakfast. It's somewhat difficult to get into the hotel - and the car-park is tiny, though there are a couple of public car-parks close by - as the one-way system is quite confusing. Once there, the welcome was warm as, indeed, was the room. The room had a double bed, TV and ensuite bathroom which was a fair size, though the shower was integral with the bath with one of those clingy plastic shower-curtains. One minor thing that irritated me was that there were no electrical sockets near the bed, so I had to leave my phone charging on the far side of the room - and my phone doubles as my alarm clock. The bed was comfortable, there was a good selection of bath towels and tea and coffee making facilities. It may be worth specifying a room with a river view when booking, though my view of the varied roof-tops of old Shrewsbury was, in its way, quite interesting. I ate in the main bar of the Wetherspoon's pub (of which the hotel is a part). The selection of real ales was gratifying and the pint or two of Norfolk Hawker that I had were very pleasant. Sadly, the rump steak that I ordered, though cooked as I had requested, left a lot to be desired - there was far to much gristle in it to make eating it an enjoyable experience. Still, the apple, blackberry and another fruit who's name escapes me (sorry!) crumble with custard was a generous portion and very nice. There was a good choice of options available the following morning for breakfast, and the traditional breakfast that I chose was nicely cooked.

Overall, a pleasant stay, provided that you can accept the inevitable background noise from the busy bar below your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy_of_Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    257
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
63
352
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in the Shrewsbury Hotel for two nights (Friday & Saturday) which is ideally situated close to the town centre. The room was very clean and the bathroom sparkling. Couldn't fault the accommodation at all. Reception staff very friendly. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staying at The Shrewsbury hotel, we got exactly what we expected. The room was small but perfectly clean and functional. The price reflects this so we had no complaints at all. Good location for shops. Quiet at night (we stayed on a Monday). Good breakfast choices, which just came off the usual Wetherspoons menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I'm marking this as average because it is an average hotel, not because we had a bad experience. If you just want a cheap night in Shrewsbury, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights in early October, on booking in I found the young receptionist extremely helpful with a nothing too much trouble attitude. The room was clean spacious and very good value plus free parking for residents, take that value off and you have a bargain. Just booked again for a one night stay later this week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great room with a comfortable bed. Location ideal for sightseeing shopping or a night out. Reception very helpful and at a great price. Would definately stay again. Linked to a wetherspoons where you can get a cheap drink or food. No need for a taxi into Shrewsbury.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

MY TRAVEL PREFERENCES: I like to stay in smaller, boutique or family-owned hotels with locally unique atmosphere and with special attention to clients’ needs and good service.

HOTEL LOCATION: Good. Walking distance to city center.

ROOM: The room was small, but clean.
BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Comfortable bed with decent mattress and decent pillows.

LIGHTING: Ok.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Small bathroom with good shower and good water pressure.
TOILETS: Good.

CLEANLINESS: Clean.

A/C: Didn’t use.

ROOM DECOR: No real décor. Just basic bed and some furniture. Little space left for bags.
FRONT DESK: Check-in and check-out were quick and smooth.

LOBBY AND COMMON AREA: No real lobby.

QUIETNESS: If your room faces the street – you may hear some noise from visitors to next-door pub. Didn’t bother me.

FOOD: Typical English breakfast is served at the bar downstairs. Good service and tasty food.

INTERNET/WI-FI: Internet access is free, and worked good in the bar. Didn’t reach my room though.

SERVICE: Good.

VALUE FOR MONEY: Good.

SUMMARY: Decent hotel with good location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Closer to receiption - more chances to have WiFi coverage in your room. Otherwise, walk to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FigaroAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here mid-week, and the hotel is very conveniently located, close to the railway station and the river. I had a nice room, facing the river (although there is a road in between), and the staff were very friendly.

There's no escaping that this is a Wetherspoon pub though and I was amazed at what a party town Shrewsbury is - even on a Tuesday night - and there seems to be no way to avoid the noise, whichever side of the hotel you stay on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Property: The Shrewsbury Hotel
Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing