We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding party for one night. Check in was swift and in fact the room was ready much earlier than expected which was a bonus. The room was clean and tidy and had everything you could possibly need. The grounds are beautiful and it is in superb surroundings which were perfect for the day of the wedding. Breakfast was also plentiful and was the perfect start to a long day. Couldn't help feeling that given the size of the room, the rate was a little expensive. Aside from that, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms are quite close together so there can be quite a bit of noise transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    83
    37
    18
    15
See reviews for
62
153
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Not a lot I can say.
Great place and great staff !
Love this place and spot on as usual !!
We had room 10 which has just been refurbed I think,plenty big enough and nice finishing touches.
Try it,better than the others including food and a decent price.
.................

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovealpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

. We were booked into one of the rooms that haven't been updated. The gal at check in was a delight and showed us the other rooms available. We were offered one of the updated rooms on the 1st floor. We stayed in the original room as we had our 2 small dogs with us and liked being close to the exit. As noted by a previous review this did face the parking lot. There was no noise from the cars coming in and out. Yes the room needs a bit of updating. If that bothers you make sure you ask for an updated room when booking! The room was well appointed everything did fit in. The room and bathroom very clean. We were offered help with our luggage even though we were on the ground floor. As this was part of a 2 week drive holiday we had several bags to bring in.
Breakfast was very good and yes we had the poached eggs and they were not hard! There was a wedding on Thursday so the hotel was very busy on Friday morning. There weren't any delays in service. We really liked the fact that all the food is locally sourced. There is plenty of choice with cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, bacon etc. You can get eggs cooked how you like them. No one can go hungry.
We had dinner one night in the restaurant which was excellent. The food being fresh and local makes a big difference. The portions were large we each had a starter and shared a main course.
The grounds as noted in most reviews are outstanding. The garden is a delight. We can see why it is such a popular venue for weddings. Very relaxing to sit outside and read.
There is a lovely walk to the early 15th century church on a path just outside the hotel. A good way to tire out the dogs!
The staff were outstanding. Every single member of staff was helpful, pleasant and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. We don't want to single anyone out since everyone was equally wonderful. They really make you feel like you are at home away from home.
A few reviews noted the thin walls. We didn't hear too much only the occasional door open and close. We certainly weren't woken up from any noise which is surprising since the hotel was full both nights as there was the wedding and the flower show in Shrewsbury.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls28
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was excellent staff very capable and friendly. Food 5star. The only fault was in our room 9 the toilet could do with changing as its a bit stained at the bottom. Bleach would not get it off its caused with wear and tear.
The grounds are kept beautiful and the black swan in the stream with the ducks is a good attraction. They have a lot a weddings there? Which would be very good

Room Tip: No lift so if not very good on your feet ask for a ground floor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susaneLs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a kovely hotel, Staff amazing so friendly without being intrusive, great food amazing breakfast.. Nothing is to much trouble for the team..

When the sun is out the terrace is such a clam peavcefull place to sit and enjoy a nice cool drink.

Rooms comfortable and clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were given a gift of one night at the Albright Hussey Manor Hotel (high-street retail gift voucher scheme) and expected "the highest standards of comfort", words from their website. We were saddened to be directed to what appeared to be a 1980s wing where we were greeted by an overwhelming smell of air freshener. View from room: ground floor, overlooking four cars. Observations: cramped; room and decor tatty (see photographs) and in need of updating, in particular the bathroom; complementary home-made biscuits were out-of-date; bedroom walls/door very thin and we could hear everything - the room was next to the laundry and we could hear the washing machines, we could even hear the chap in the room next door going to the toilet; bedroom and corridor door slamming was very loud, making it difficult to sleep (especially when there is a wedding party in the hotel); wardrobe door would not fasten closed and was constantly open. A good point, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the lady who served our breakfast on Sunday morning! In summary: cramped, tatty and noisy. We tolerated it for one night but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4d6f6e7465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked a room for one night on a Sunday to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. Was told on the phone we'd be in an exec double room with 4 poster bed. We were put in room 11 which is in the new part of the hotel. I believe the rooms in the original building are lovely but our room was really nothing special.
Went down for dinner at 7pm and was expecting the ala carte menu (a copy of this was in our room) but we were given the Sunday lunch menu. Food was OK, again very average. The waiter was a nice chap.
Breakfast the following morning was nice but don't order a poached egg, mine had a hard yolk and had obviously been left in too long.
Thin walls in the rooms - at 5-30 am I heard the person next door making her/him self a hot drink.

Room Tip: try to stay in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Lisa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
3.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
5.7 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Property: Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Address: A-528 Ellesmere | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing