We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of No 53

Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Queen Street Sitting room with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Sitting room
Queen Street
Sitting room with log burner
Kitchen
No 53 from the street
Double bedroom
View from french doors
Kitchen
Welcome gifts
Dining room ready for guest with wine & homemade biscuits
Double bedroom at front of house
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Single room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom
Garden - Winter
From patio and BBQ looking down the garden
From garden looking towards house
Garden in June
Garden
Garden from washing line
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Debbie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

No 53 is a lovely cottage in a great location for Shrewsbury town centre. We were there for 4 nights whilst my son played in a cricket festival at Shrewsbury School.
Rhian was lovely to deal with & left a bottle of wine & some milk in the fridge to welcome us!
The cottage is very well kitted out, the bedrooms are a great size, the back room in particular is really nice with a walk in wardrobe & en suite & a further single bedroom.
If we return to Shrewsbury I wouldn't hesitate to book No 53 again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thanks Debbie, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyce423
The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice house with lovely garden”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this house. The location is perfect, the house is very comfortable and bigger than we expected, and the garden is wonderful. Luckily, the wheather was good during our stay. So, we spent a lot of time in the garden, reading our books while eating freshly picked raspberries. A perfect vacation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thankyou Joyce. Glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home in the heart of Shrewsbury”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in this lovely house for a week whilst visiting our friends. The house was so well equipped, everything we needed was there, especially having a 2 year old and 8 month old, the extras that were supplied made life so much easier for us. (The books in the upstairs cupboard were a perfect touch!).
The house's location really is perfect, less than a 5 minute walk to the river, on a really pretty street.
The garden is extremely impressive, seemingly never-ending, and raspberries available to pick, which our 2 year old loved!
I would definitely recommend no. 53 for a stay in Shrewsbury, the personal touches were very much appreciated and it was reassuring to know that Rhian was at the other end of the phone should we have needed anything, which we didn't.
We would definitely like to return to stay at no. 53 during our next visit to Shrewsbury!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the comfy beds!
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
What a review! Thanks Ruth much appreciated and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline4...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All of Shrewsbury lived up to the lovely welcome from Rhian”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely family stay made all the better by little treats supplied (like homemade biscuits). Loved the board games and the wide range of books - for adults and children. Quiet location but just round the corner from the river along which you can have a short leisurely walk in to town. If the weather is nice keep walking round to the Welsh Bridge. So much to see and everyone was so friendly, especially to my granddaughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location. Lovely walks in both directions.
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thankyou Caroline, glad you all enjoyed your stay and found Shrewsbury welcoming. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

No. 53 is in the perfect location to visit Shrewsbury and the surrounding area.

The house is comfortable with plenty of room for five people to share. We didn't want for anything and the owner is very nice.

Would recommend and return in the future.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thanks, Lorraine. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good catch up with your friends. Hope to see you again, you'd be very welcome to return x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma1070
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely recommend No 53 for stay in Shropshire”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Would definitely recommend No53 for a stay in Shrewsbury and surrounding area. Rhian was a pleasure to deal with kept in contact to ensure every thing was ok she provided many extras not normally found in holiday lets too many to list. House is very convenient to walk into town and nice to stroll along the river in the evening. Our first time visiting Shropshire but will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Sometimes not being able to park near house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Thankyou Norma, we aim to please. I look forward to hearing form you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly J
1 review
“Great spacious house with everything we needed and more!”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

we had a great stay here! Close to the town centre and it had everything we needed and even some really nice extra surprises here and there! the bedrooms are very spacious and it was also nice to have 2 bathrooms as we were 2 couples staying there! Everything was clean and tidy, and the decor made it feel very homely and cosy, We'll definitely be heading back there soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thanks Molly, think that's the most speedy review yet! Glad you enjoyed your long weekend back in Shrewsbury
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing