We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful piece of history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old House Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old House Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed just the 1 night in the Catherine of Aragon Suite. Absolutely gorgeous place, steeped in history. Beautiful room, well stocked with tea/coffee etc. and my stay also included a bottle of bubbly, which was wonderful. Both Tony and Fred were extremely welcoming and helpful, to the extent of valet parking my car! The tour of the house was fascinating, and breakfast delicious. Would highly recommend, sorry I couldn't stay longer :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Jenny1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aragon1, Manager at The Old House Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review Miss Jenny. It was wonderful to welcome you to The Old House and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the house, the tour and your breakfast. We hope to meet you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
155
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Mary Tudor suite & enjoyed every minute. The old house is amazing & if you like historic buildings this is the place for you. On arrival Tony was very friendly & helpful taking us to the car park & then letting us leave our luggage & explore the town even though we were a couple of hours early. The room was very spacious & well equipped fantastic bed, only downside there was no milk.!! Breakfast was enormous served in the library by Mary who was lovely & couldn't do enough to please. On leaving we asked Tony if we could view the other rooms as they were unoccupied & we are planning to return & was abruptly told No for some reason?Other than that fantastic stay.Don't miss the tour!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pds2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful nights stay at this amazing and beautiful 500 yr old house. Its is astounding. If you are the kind of person who has tons of imagination and has an interest in history I would say you would love it here. It is a 1 in a million opportunity to stay in a house of its age and features and made us both feel a little bit like royalty.

Tour is a

We stayed in the Catherine of Aragon Suite.

Would recommend The Glutton Club for evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy_owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We highly recommend staying at the Old House. The entire experience, from my first email contact with Tony, to the tour of the house he gave us just before we left - all was first class. We stayed in the Catherine of Aragon Suite, with its own sitting room, and separate shower room, it has an incredible amount of space, and is decorated in a way completely sympathetic to the age of the house. This is a house that is 500 years old, so make sure you don't leave without Tony's tour. He has really done an incredible amount of research on it, and he delivers the story in a very animated and entertaining way. Since we were in the suite, we had our breakfast delivered to our sitting room each morning, which was a real treat for the first leg of our journey. The breakfast was smilingly delivered by Tony's wife Mary, and included full english or omelette if you wanted it, or a lovely continental or charcuterie plate. We were truly spoiled. We stayed for 4 nights and loved ever minute. If you are staying in Shrewsbury, don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed, with two friends, for just one night in this wonderful old house. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived so we left our luggage and walked for three minutes into the town centre. When we returned our luggage had been taken to our rooms.

Both rooms were beautiful and full of character with squeaky floorboards and tilted floors. Furnishings were eclectic and comfortable.

Views from the bedrooms are over the garden and down to the river.

Breakfast was cooked-to-order (order placed when reservation made) and was fine, although we were disappointed that there was no fresh fruit and some of the bread was stale.

Tony gave us a wonderful and informative tour of the house.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found the Suites through TripAdvisor and would wholeheartedly agree with all the positive reviews that have been posted. The owners are extremely welcoming and our room (The Mary Tudor) was very well furnished and comfortable. Tony gave us a very enjoyable tour of the house, and Mary served an delicious breakfast. The Suites are well located in the centre of Shrewsbury and it was helpful to have parking pre-arranged for us. Overall, we would highly recommend the house as an unusual and good value place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My new wife and I stayed here (Catherine of Aragon Suite) the night of our wedding and the night after and it was great. The suite was beautiful and the whole building is full of character, not too suprising given it is approx. 500 years old. Tony, the owner, was a great help and gives a really informative tour of the house if you want it. The breakfast was also fantastic, full of nice local produce. I can't recommend The Old House Suites highly enough if you are looking for a B&B which is a bit different and full of character.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Suites

Property: The Old House Suites
Address: The Old House 20 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House in Dogpole sits on an original Anglo-Saxon plot leading down to the River Severn. After the Norman Conquest in 1066, Shrewsbury was fortified and the town wall cut through the garden, but the plot remained intact. The house was rebuilt as a timber framed Tudor mansion around two massive brick chimneys in the late 1490s and retains much of this original character. The house had strong connections with Catherine of Aragon. She married Arthur (brother of Henry VIII) at nearby Ludlow Castle in South Shropshire where she finally returned after her divorce from her later marriage to Henry VIII. Members of the Rocke family were courtiers of Catherine and also owners of The Old House, and there is a tradition that Mary Tudor stayed in the house on her way to visit her mother. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing