We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old House Suites
Ranked #8 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We highly recommend staying at the Old House. The entire experience, from my first email contact with Tony, to the tour of the house he gave us just before we left - all was first class. We stayed in the Catherine of Aragon Suite, with its own sitting room, and separate shower room, it has an incredible amount of space, and is decorated in a way completely sympathetic to the age of the house. This is a house that is 500 years old, so make sure you don't leave without Tony's tour. He has really done an incredible amount of research on it, and he delivers the story in a very animated and entertaining way. Since we were in the suite, we had our breakfast delivered to our sitting room each morning, which was a real treat for the first leg of our journey. The breakfast was smilingly delivered by Tony's wife Mary, and included full english or omelette if you wanted it, or a lovely continental or charcuterie plate. We were truly spoiled. We stayed for 4 nights and loved ever minute. If you are staying in Shrewsbury, don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed, with two friends, for just one night in this wonderful old house. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived so we left our luggage and walked for three minutes into the town centre. When we returned our luggage had been taken to our rooms.

Both rooms were beautiful and full of character with squeaky floorboards and tilted floors. Furnishings were eclectic and comfortable.

Views from the bedrooms are over the garden and down to the river.

Breakfast was cooked-to-order (order placed when reservation made) and was fine, although we were disappointed that there was no fresh fruit and some of the bread was stale.

Tony gave us a wonderful and informative tour of the house.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found the Suites through TripAdvisor and would wholeheartedly agree with all the positive reviews that have been posted. The owners are extremely welcoming and our room (The Mary Tudor) was very well furnished and comfortable. Tony gave us a very enjoyable tour of the house, and Mary served an delicious breakfast. The Suites are well located in the centre of Shrewsbury and it was helpful to have parking pre-arranged for us. Overall, we would highly recommend the house as an unusual and good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My new wife and I stayed here (Catherine of Aragon Suite) the night of our wedding and the night after and it was great. The suite was beautiful and the whole building is full of character, not too suprising given it is approx. 500 years old. Tony, the owner, was a great help and gives a really informative tour of the house if you want it. The breakfast was also fantastic, full of nice local produce. I can't recommend The Old House Suites highly enough if you are looking for a B&B which is a bit different and full of character.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great stay in Shrewsbury at this magnificent house in Shrewsbury. We stayed in the Mary Tudor room which had great views east towards the river and the English Bridge. The room was huge with panelled walls and a well equipped bathroom.

The following day we had a guided tour (which Tony offers) which was fascinating and gave an insight into the consruction of the house, the previous oweners and the history of the city.

Breakfast was taken in the library and there was a good selection - including Tony's wild strawberry jam.

The only two things to be aware of is there is (a) no parking at the house and (b) there is a tortuous one-way system around the city. For us this was easily solved by stopping just to the north of the city (beside the river) and walking the route to the house (which took about 10mins) so we were able to easily find our way there, stop to unload our bags and at the same time pick up Tony who guided us to the parking space which was a short distance away as the crow flies. Not an issue for us.

Really enjoyed our stay with Tony and Mary and will return again when we are heading to the Shrewsbury area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owners Tony & Mary. Car parking is pre-booked in the nearby NCP and you will be escorted there. The Tudor house has so many original features, but is also very comfortable too. We stayed one night in the Catherine of Aragon suite, which comprises of a huge bedroom with a massive bed, panelled walls and original floor ~ a lounge with settees and tv ~ a bathroom/toilet with roll top bath, and an enormous shower room. Lots of little extra touches too....bathrobes, flowers, toiletries, books. In this suite, breakfast is brought to your lounge, and it was first class.
Tony will offer a tour of the house.....make sure you say yes, as he delivers an enthusiastic history of the house and it's previous owners (even though he must have done this hundreds of times!)
Very nice people and a wonderful place to stay.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

An exceptionally warm welcome awaits from hosts Tony, Mary, and Fred. The location is right in the middle of all the sights and restaurants. The house itself is a major Tudor historical location ---sleep where Mary Tudor slept! And Tony offers an in credible lively historical tour of the property that brings it all to life. Our hosts were extremely accommodating, even when our delay was unreasonably late. The rooms are very spacious and well-appointed. This has been one of the nicest bed and breakfast experiences we have had over dozens we have tried. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Suites

Address: The Old House 20 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $114 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House in Dogpole sits on an original Anglo-Saxon plot leading down to the River Severn. After the Norman Conquest in 1066, Shrewsbury was fortified and the town wall cut through the garden, but the plot remained intact. The house was rebuilt as a timber framed Tudor mansion around two massive brick chimneys in the late 1490s and retains much of this original character. The house had strong connections with Catherine of Aragon. She married Arthur (brother of Henry VIII) at nearby Ludlow Castle in South Shropshire where she finally returned after her divorce from her later marriage to Henry VIII. Members of the Rocke family were courtiers of Catherine and also owners of The Old House, and there is a tradition that Mary Tudor stayed in the house on her way to visit her mother. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Old House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing