We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome and lovely sights.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superb views of countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Superb views of countryside
Views of Church Stretton Hills from the cottage
Magnificent sunsets
Magnificent views of South Shropshire Hills
Spacious living accommodation
Large twin room with built in wardrobes
Twin beds can be linked and zipped to make a King Size Bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MrKeithSa
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome and lovely sights.”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We thank you Maria, for a very warm welcome, delicious sponge and wine. The cottage is superb with every comfort, we have enjoyed seeing many places of interest. We experienced some lovely walks and saw very beautiful things in the area, from Cardingmill Valley to River Seven and its connecting railway. Thanks to the fantastic weather we had a wonderful stay in the scenery that surrounds these amazing cottages in the Shropshire Hills. An enjoyable holiday all in all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind comment, I enjoyed having you here and pleased to know you had a lovely week.
Best wishes
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor J
North Fambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another stay in this delightful cottage and equally delightful location”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I have now lost count of how many times we have returned to this cottage. We come for the lovely hospitality from Maria, the cottage and it's amenities & cleanliness, it's location for South Shropshire and NW Wales - not forgetting the lovely view of the Long Mynd from the cottage - even if it was covered with snow and frost this time!
Thank you again for a relaxing, memorable stay, Maria.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
It was great to see you both again, despite the weather.
You are such great guests and hopefully you will return in the autumn.
All the best
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aytonspri...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CLEAN, COSY, COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

WISTERIA COTTAGE was an excellent choice for our stay in Shropshire. It's beautifully clean, well-equipped and cosy, and Maria, the owner, is welcoming without being intrusive, and immediately responsive, understanding and friendly (she left us a panettone and bottle of bubbly for our New Year stay). The broadband worked well too, which has not been true of several other countryside places we've stayed.
We were visiting family in Shrewsbury, but also wanted to walk in the Shropshire Hills too, so the location was perfect for us - a short drive into Shrewsbury, and also to Church Stretton in beautiful walking country. The Old Hall in Dorrington, only a few minutes' drive away, is very convenient, with award-winning curry and Persian-influenced dishes, and Shrewsbury Market (finalist for Market of the Year 2018!) has a great Indian stall that also does takeaway (Indian Street Food), plus Thai and other food stalls, and great butchers and veg. stalls and a fabulous wine shop. There's a very convenient village pub, a few hundred metres from Wisteria Cottage, that we didn't have time to visit on this occasion, that's run by the local villagers.There are some wonderful historic buildings and sites in Shropshire as well as the wonderful natural beauty of the surroundings. All in all, this was a very successful and enjoyable visit. Thanks Maria!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Dear Ann, thank you for the lovely comments about the cottage, Shrewsbury and the surrounding areas, it will help other guests to make their mind up.
It was lovely to meet you although I did not have much opportunity to chat with you apart from when you arrived. I’m sure you had a great time with the family.
You were lovely people to have here, and hope to be able to welcome you again.
Happy New Year, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREVOR A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“clean, comfortable and well equipted”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a short 3 night stay, great location for Shropshire attractions , cottage is clean and well presented next to the owners home.
Great views out to the hills, and set in a secure location with off road gated parking.
Owner has a spaniel called Hector, he came to visit several times, very cute, we would return to this property again

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comment, it would be lovely to have you back
Best wishes
Maria Haworth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vindiboy6...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable country cottage with views.”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I loved staying here. Right away from it all in the lovely Shropshire countryside with uninterrupted views of the Longmynd, the Lawley and Caradoc from the cottage windows yet still within easy reach of Shrewsbury by road. Very well appointed cottage with nicely sized accommodation and all mod cons, and all on one level so ideal for those who are perhaps not quite as agile as they once were. No light pollution from street lamps at night - a treat for stargazers. Maria was the perfect hostess and made us feel very welcome, even down to having freshly baked a light as a feather sponge cake for us when we arrived. Would we like to stay again? We'd love to!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, you were such a lovely couple, I enjoyed having chats with you. I do hope to see you again sometime, you will be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Nice quiet comfortable and clean rental”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed our stay quiet with nice views and a handy pub lactated in a nice village the owner Mrs M H was very welcoming will defiantly stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location for a relaxing break with stunning views and plenty of things to see and do nearby.”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely holiday staying at Wisteria cottage B. Maria (the owner) is an excellent and friendly host who has thought of everything to ensure her guests have a relaxing and comfortable stay. All the extra little touches including a homemade cake, milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine when we arrived were much appreciated. The cottage was beautifully clean, the bed ensured a good nights sleep and overall the cottage was well equipped with everything you could need. We ate out on our first night at the local pub just around the corner. The pub landlord and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to come up with a meal suitable for a vegetarian coeliac. The short stroll back to our cottage afterwards along the country lane was a delight, watching the bats flitting about above our heads in the twilight. The location of the cottage was great for days out to Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Ironbridge, Powis castle in Wales, the Severn Valley Railway at Bridgenorth and walking either the Long Mynd or Stretton hills.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Wisteria Cottage, more so the surrounding areas.
You were great guests and thank you for leaving the cottage in immaculate conditions.
Best wishes
Maria Haworth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing