We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stubborn attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stubborn attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked the room online and immediately after booking it, i realized that I had made a mistake by one day in my reservation. Within a minute I was on the phone to the hotel to explain my problem. I got a very firm company policy of "Too bad, so sad!" there was nothing they could do about it. They had my money, and they did not give a hoot about me. This is not what I would call customer service at all. I even explained that I would be in the UK for two months and staying in hotels the whole time. It meant nothing. They were happier to keep my money for the night that I could not stay there, than they were for me to stay at their hotels in the future. Short sighted.. Yup..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your booking here at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre.

Your reservation was booked under the Non Flexible Premier Saver rate.

Although we appreciate no one books a hotel room with the expectation to cancel or amend, the only reason we're able to offer these discounted rooms is by adhering to strict booking terms. This is why customers are informed at the time of booking that they will not be able to cancel or amend the reservation, once confirmed.

For these reasons, we regret that we could not assist with your request on this occasion.

Please note that any pre-paid supplement charges for breakfast, meal deals etc are refunded back to the card held on the booking.

Best wishes,

Natalie
Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    415
    118
    37
    17
See reviews for
268
567
68
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night when I was in Shrewsbury for a Christmas party. This hotel was not particularly good value for money at £75 room only. The room was very comfortable and warm though with a large bathroom and plenty of hot water.
I didn't think that the hotel was very easy to find. I feel that directions should be provided from the train station on the website or in an email confirmation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A little aprehensive having not stayed at a premier Inn beforebut totally unfounded. Everthing from start to finish was excellent and trouble free. All the staff we encountered were polite and friendly sevice throughout. the only minor gripe is car park charges at £8.00 per 24 hours but the rest of Shrewsbury seems to be about the same. Would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly revisit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz-LongEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a treat away from the kids for my husband's birthday just after new year. Staff were all pleasant and friendly, room very clean and breakfast delicious. Our room was on the third floor above the main entrance, where we heard no noise from the street below and were greeted with a view of the swollen Severn in the morning. We found parking after a drive around town, living near shrewsbury and knowing the way around may have helped. Our tip for finding the parking: after the Welsh bridge or bus station depending on your direction, follow signs for Raven Meadows parking, then follow signs for Premier Inn parking and you should have no bother. Overall, the same high standard of cleanliness, quiet and service that you can expect of a premier inn, in a great location for an evening out in shrewsbury.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyMumE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed there with family just before Christmas. Very nice reception from keen and pleasant staff. Room was spotless and everything went very well apart from the weather, it rained the whole time we were there.

Nice to see the restaurant actually part of the building which is not always the case with Premier Inns, but in the rain walking to another building would have not been so good. Also a nice lounge area to relax in, almost like a grown up hotel.

The location in the centre of Shrewsbury is also excellent with nice views of the river if your room is on the front of the building. Because Shrewsbury is so compact, having the hotel in the centre makes exploring the town easy.

Overall, very satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel over looking the riverside, otherwise you are looking ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiristchurch
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

You know what you are getting when you book a Premier Inn! The standards are high- the staff are very helpful and friendly - and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It wasn't hard to find, although finding a suitable place to park on New Year's Day was more challenging!
Having been caught out in the rain, the coat hooks by the door meant that our other clothes didn't get wet when we hung up our jackets.

Lots of hot water, a large bath, big towels, choice of pillows, and a comfy bed guaranteed a good night's sleep. I'd challenge anyone to say they didn't sleep well here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for two nights between Xmas and the new year. We chose this hotel because of its location, just a couple of minutes walk to the town, castle etc. This is a relatively new hotel, so everything is clean and in good order. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the bus station, so initially I had concerns over the noise, but we didn’t suffer at all. Its worth noting, we could not open our window at all, but the room has air con to get round it. The staff we encountered were all friendly and efficient. We booked breakfast, which as with all Premier inns, is an all you can eat buffet style. Breakfast is served in the Thyme restaurant in the hotel, but we didn’t try it in the evening. We went into town and tried different restaurants (there is a good selection of different places to eat) and then had a drink back in the hotel later.

Parking is £8 per day and there are limited spaces available, plus your driving skills are put to the test, because each bay has a pillar and the spaces are very narrow. Luckily our Satnav took us straight to the car park. On booking in the receptionist asked if we had trouble finding the car park, so I assume this is a common issue they have to deal with.

All in all, this is a great hotel if you want a central location. My only negative, is there was no shaving point in the room, which surprised me, as its a new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing