We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try, even though ours was a failure!”
Review of Glutton Club - CLOSED

Glutton Club
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must try, even though ours was a failure!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

To be honest, if i had been anywhere else, i would have given 1 star as so many things were wrong.

Ill start with the bad and then tell you how, actually, this restaurant could be great.

We ordered bread as a pre starter, this never came

My wife ordered Bavette of beef and asked for it to be medium / well - the waitress talked her out of this and suggested the rump as it would taste and cook better as medium/well. The rump however came out very rare and was bleeding all over the plate. That was the most disappointing thing!

Due to not taking notes of our order, the side dishes came out completely wrong.

Normally the above would have meant a 1 star however, for some reason i find myself recommending this restaurant.

The two girls serving us, (i got the impression it was their restaurant, we brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and even they were really embarrassed how bad they got it wrong.

The food, although ours was wrong, would be so nice and there is ample choice.

The staff are friendly and really make an effort to please and the restaurant is clean and comfortable.

Although our night didn't go as planned i can really recommend you try this place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formbyShropshire, Manager at Glutton Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Firstly i would like to say thank you for the rating which you gave us, we are extremely sorry for the way your evening went on Saturday, we were extremely embarrassed as its defiantly not what we are about. We are so grateful that you have left this review and that even with the mistakes on Saturday you could still see what we are all about. We really look forward to seeing you again. Please give us a call when you and your wife would like to come back again. Many thanks,

Anouska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    32
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, would come back”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last week we fancied a treat and booked online. On arriving to the restaurant we were greeted very nicely and given a nice cosy table, although close to other tables somehow it felt well-appointed as we could speak without feeling as though we were shouting. The menu had a good selection of food, something for everyone we felt. We had the tasty sour dough bread (although I must say as a bread-maker it wasn't all that different to normal white bread), and yummy olives. We then both had steak and it was super delicious - great meat, well-cooked. The staff were great and didn't rush us at all, overall we had a great evening and would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raddlebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formbyShropshire, Manager at Glutton Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your treat. We look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks, The Glutton Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food and service at this restaurant was really good and could not be faulted. All dishes were presented well and tasted even better. We both ate the lamb which was served in three ways and tasted beautiful. The only negatives to the evening were being seated next to the bar with people standing over us whilst we were eating and a slight smell of damp/toilets rising from the basement. This would not put us off returning so long as we were seated elsewhere. By far the nicest meal I have had in Shrewsbury for a long time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LionelEmmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formbyShropshire, Manager at Glutton Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Glutton Club. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dishes. The lamb is one of our dishes that we have been unable to take off our menu, as we get so many requests for it.
We want to send our biggest apologises for the smell of the drains that evening , as a very old building we have found it extremely hard to cover the smells , they are impossibe to get rid of and covering them can be so difficult , but we are trying our very best but thank you for your feedback.

We really look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks, The Glutton Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyrope
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This venue was chosen by friends who had been before. We were greeted well and the eight of us were seated at a pleasant table by polite efficient, knowledgeable staff. We all decided to have the 'taster' starter (which understandably took a few minutes to prepare) all were beautifully crafted and absolutely delightful. My Bavette steak was cooked perfectly rare and was delicious. All my fellow diners were equally impressed by the high standard of food provided. This place is a gem of a find, good luck to the two youngsters in charge, they obviously have a passion for creating a great dining experience for their customers.

Helpful?
Thank guyrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formbyShropshire, Manager at Glutton Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you tried 'The Taste of the Glutton Club menu', it was a menu which we have wanted to try for a long time. You were one of the first tables to try it , so your feedback is just fantastic. It is so lovely when our customers can see how much passion we have for food and service. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again.

Thank you
The Glutton Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our first visit will not be our last”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My family & I had a lovely meal here this evening. We all chose from the a la carte menu, although you can choose from the taster menu if you wish. The service and welcome was very good.

To start, my wife had steak tartare, I chose the kidneys. Both dishes were lovely.

For main course, my wife & daughter chose the trio of pork, which they both enjoyed very much. My son and I chose rump steak which was gorgeous. The chips with the steak were delicious.

The pavlova was lovely for dessert, along with the warm chocolate tart.

A lovely meal, with good service and a nice position in the town, close to the theatre & the river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formbyShropshire, Manager at Glutton Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so pleased that your enjoyed the Trio of Suckling pig and the rest of your dishes.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks, The Glutton Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glutton Club also viewed

Hadnall, Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
Uffington, Shrewsbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing