We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Head
Ranked #48 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Kings Head is an amazing pub steeped in history.
The location is perfect.
Free private car park.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the twin room overlooking the street, it's a beautiful large room full of original features and an ensuite with a great shower, plenty of teas and coffees and large mugs, very comfortable beds and pillows,spotlessly clean everywhere in the room.
The band playing that night were really good and yes it's loud but we enjoyed it, you are warned and it finishes at 12 anyway.
Bar staff are very friendly and the beer is good.We didn't eat but will definitely stay for Sunday lunch next time.
No breakfast but there is a Wetherspoons right opposite and plenty of cafes etc
For £45 I think it's a fab place to stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I cannot understand the idiotic reviews that I have read on here. I stayed at the kings head last month and could not be more happy. Obviously it will be loud if you book in on a night where there is music, you do not need the staff to tell you that. I found the room to be charming and amazing value for money. We were advised that breakfast was not included in the price, but told there was a weather spoons 30 seconds away from the pub open at 7am. The twin we had was only £45.00. Superb value for money!

Room Tip: Fo for room 1 2 or 3 they are twins but can be pushed together and they have ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfork, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Shrewsbury without hotel reservations on a Saturday only to find that many of the hotels were full due to a running marathon being held that weekend. A local suggested the Kings Head Inn. We were happy to find that they only charged 40 gbp/nt. The rooms initially looked great, but after checking in we found dirty underwear in the closet and got the feeling that the room was dirty. Our room overlooked the street so there was partying going on all night. They had a band in the pub immediately below us plating until midnight. There was no breakfast included in the rate. A one star accommodation, at best. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHayfork_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stopped in shrewsbury for the afternoon and had a meal here. The food was excelent, Large portions and good quality produce. Very good value for money! Would recomend to anyone! The building was really quirky with loads of character and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Don't believe anything negative - this is a real find!! Yes, a band plays on Saturday but the charming and friendly staff informed us before we checked in, so we knew. We had actually planned to go out, but the band were so good, we stayed, and had a great night!!! Staff and management are a credit- friendly, helpful ( my wife asked for some extra milk in the room - there within minutes, with a smile!! Unusual these days!) Rooms are fantastic value and staff so wonderful, we decided to stay a bit longer and have Sunday lunch - wow!!! Huge, homemade lunches. Delicious. We will be back!!!! Don't hesitate to book, great value and personal service

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaldingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

just come home from a weekend at this pub we had a brilliant time yes the music was loud but if you stay in a pub expect noise the staff and landlady are lovely and i have to say the beds are great i slept like a log. we are definatly going back great value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

From once a lovely olde worlde pub where
Nothing was too much trouble...to a pub that thinks it's a high end club!!! It's starting to get a bad reputation among some folk since it recently changed hands...worst thing that ever happened. Definatley won't be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
College Hill Guest House
College Hill Guest House
#33 of 55 in Shrewsbury
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corbet Arms
The Corbet Arms
#1 of 1 in Uffington
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#15 of 55 in Shrewsbury
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head

Property: Kings Head
Address: 48 Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing