We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, best steak ever, friendly staff”
Review of The Old Bell Pub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Bell Pub
Ranked #19 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

For a tenner you can get an amazing steak cooked to perfection. The fries are the best I've ever tasted. Today I had a chicken lime wrap with a yoghurt and cucumber dip which was totally divine. The decor is top notch and the people who work there are very friendly. Ten out of ten for food, quality and service!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

I read that the Old Bell had reopened under new management and that American food was available. As an American I am was delighted at the ribs i had- the best I have had in the UK and I have been here for 28 years. My daughter's blackened salmon was very good. This was a follow-up to a visit in which my friend and I had beautiful burgers. I know that I will be working my way through the menu (though NOT getting ribs every time I go will be a struggle.) Well done the Old Bell- great service and fantastic food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from eating at The Old Bell and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the food was. Good selection of American food - I had a flat bread with an unusual topping and chicken, that was beautifuly served on a slate and extremely tasty. My husband had a burger which he was very impressed with - you can have sweet potato fries instead of normal ones if wanted. Were some nice American specials on offer like meat loaf and mash, crab cakes, ribs etc. Very reasonably priced too - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AliDShrewsbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We popped in here for lunch today after reading something about new owners in the local press recently. What a treat! We received such a warm and genuine welcome from the american lady behind the bar who later came over for a chat. What used to be a bit of a traditional drinkers pub has been transformed into a comfy smart new place to eat. It was great to see real shropshire ale behind the bar - and sampled it readily as we looked over the menu and specials board. We shared a starter of egg roll (like a spring roll but with creamy chicken and spinach filling) which disappeared all too quickly. For mains the husband had homemade meatloaf with mash. It was delicious and meaty without being heavy. I had the piri piri chicken with sweet potato fries and homemade coleslaw - fab flavours that went together perfectly. We were too full for pudding...until the pudding board was delivered as the lady cleared our plates, and she took our order back with her. Bourbon and pecan pie... gorgeous.
We are looking forward to returning soon to work our way through the menu - there is plenty we cant wait to try. Husband is going for T-Mex burger next and I'm going to go for the baby ribs with sweetcorn. I bet we won't be disappointed. Great to have a decent real american food place in town - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneandSteve110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank Piera Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#9 of 56 in Shrewsbury
217 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Corbet Arms
The Corbet Arms
#1 of 1 in Uffington
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#42 of 56 in Shrewsbury
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Pub

Address: 115 Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $66 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Pub is situated in the Medieval town of Shrewsbury, Shropshire. We are bringing the old style pub into the 21st century. With a stylish bar/restaurant and tastefully decorated rooms all ensuite, you won't want to leave whether you're here to stay, or just for a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Bell Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing