We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbots Mead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$63
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$105
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
40
94
41
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
94
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtown centrecar keys at receptionlarge extensionrooms and public areasevening receptionistcar parking at the hotelgeorgian buildingkippersfreshly cooked breakfastfriendly hotela family run hoteltv and tea making facilitiestea coffee hot chocolatebasement roomoverlooking the rear gardenbowl of fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 196 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Really can't think of anywhere we have stayed in the last few years that has been such poor value for money. We booked this hotel based on recent reviews and because it was walking distance to an event we were attending. Our room (15) was very small. The shower room (more a cupboard) was very dated. Old tiles coming away from the shower base, the towels were old and the bath mat grey and frayed. Plastic disposable mugs, tiny bar of soap and two tubes of something blue but so cheap it wasn't labeled. The room was so small the loo is right up against the wall and the towel rail is above it so you have to reach above the loo to get to the towels. The shower tray has seen better days and it's all so old it's hard to tell whether the room was clean. The bedroom is so small there's no wardrobe, just an open rail. The room was cool despite the heating being on. smelt musty and had mould on the windows, which were covered in condensation in the morning. The drawers were cheap pine and the curtains just cheap plain brown. The bed was a hard base with a mattress on top that is so old it had no support and the springs were in ridges. Cheap and stained linen on the bed. Breakfast was Ok but had been cooked ahead of ordering and kept warm so the bacon was hard. The egg was OK! Don't expect a huge portion. it's one small sausage, one thin piece of black pudding, half a tomato, two pieces of bacon, one egg and some barely edible mushrooms. No sauces on the table. The staff were pleasant, but not so interested in us as to ask why we were in Shrewsbury or whether we had enjoyed our stay. As we weren't asked whether we had enjoyed our stay we didn't provide feedback on the spot, but will be doing so. We paid £80 B&B. The hotel is well located and our room on the back was away from street noise, but the bed so uncomfortable that frankly it wouldn't have made much difference if it had been noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoppyTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew b, Owner at Abbots Mead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review are hotel,
Again are sincere apoligise as we have discussed in the e-mails you have sent me.
This room as with all are other rooms has now been refurbished, it was one of the last rooms we did, as we have had a long stay customer who always requests this room,
We feel now it is up to the standard of the rest of the hotel with new bathroom, and complete re decoration.
We take all reviews on board and use them constructively where ever possible.
We do say to all are guests if you are not happy with something please do tell us and we can try to put things right for you e.g move you to another room.
Which would make your stay in are beautiful town more enjoyable and we would have happy customers.
Kind Regards
Andrew Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

A welcoming family run hotel with a clean comfy room, a tad tight for two. The service was very good and had no problems with the leave the keys parking or the wifi.
The location is ideal close to city shops and the river all within short walking distance. Breakfast was excellent. I appreciate these types of friendly escapes over the cookie cutter chain hotels!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here quite a few nights (lost count) september - October 2013.
The Rooms are compact but have TV and drinks facilty along with en-suite shower room and toilet. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly polite and very helpful. There was a 2 night period where the TV wasnt working due to TV aerial blowing down but this can happen to any hotel especially when adverse weather hits. They were very apologetic and you can't say fairer than that. The hotel offers free WiFi. Located in the heart of shrewsbury its a short walk into town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently and were pleased with the accommodation.
Our sat nav had trouble getting us there as there is a one way system in operation and we missed the first turning and had to go right round the town again.
There is restricted parking at the front of the hotel, cars had to be parked 2 deep but we left our keys at reception and the owner moves your car if someone wants to be out before you.
The rooms and the hotel are a bit dated but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent
We found it quite noisy late evening as there is a pub next door and they were noisy when leaving and our room did not have double glazing.
The hotel is perfect for walking into town and Shrewsbury town is well worth a visit. We will be back and next time do a walk along the riverbank.
Very enjoyable 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend. Lovely cosy and homely place, felt very welcome, Barry and Irene were lovely people, and very informative about the hotel and the local area. Very central wjth the town almost on the doorstep, parking space provided at the front. Breakfast was lovely, not a buffet but whatever you wanted cooked to order, along with the usual cereals and fruit. The rooms were small but comfortable. Byron the night porter was a character! No noise from the pub next door and we had a front room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews