We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbots Mead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$72
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$57
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
41
94
41
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
94
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtown centrecar keys at receptionlarge extensionrooms and public areasevening receptionistcar parking at the hotelgeorgian buildingkippersfreshly cooked breakfastfriendly hotela family run hoteltv and tea making facilitiestea coffee hot chocolatebasement roomoverlooking the rear gardenbowl of fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 197 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What can you say good hotel nice guy on reception. We had a big room parking not a problem but the guy needs your keys to swop cars round I did not see this as a problem
When I needed some paperwork printed off from the Internet again no problems we had a great time in your hotel and will be back well done you should have four stars

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Start with cons.
Carparking free ,yes but you are asked to leave your keys, does the hotel have insurance for this.when you go out then come back your car has been moved,
Carpark has not enough spaces for the amount of rooms.
Looks in a quiet place but its not, next to a pub that plays music till closing , in a residential area with a guy always doing diy, on a busy road leading to a big carpark, think its a through road for shrewsbury.
Price,, high for a two star,
Rooms are small, youll be surprised when you arrive.
Hotel,is dated 1970 feel.
Small tv in room.mounted eight foot high.
Internet takes a while to connect.




Pros
Breakfast good and staff friendly, but i think they know the above...


Sorry to have so many cons but there true and honest.when your paying these prices.
On our leaving there a lovely premier inn on the way out with a beer terrace/garden.


Thanks jim

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikerjimsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay in this hotel. I can only echo the positive reviews left by previous guests. Although a little dated it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our shower was the electric type and therefore easy to regulate, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the breakfast delicious. The room was a little on the small side but the space was planned efficiently so everything had its place and for a weekend it is in an ideal location. Our hosts were discreet but still on hand and very accommodating. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manctravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently situated near the town centre and is close to the some parkland and the river Severn. The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. The set breakfast was altered on request and was tasty and filling. It was good to find a hotel that still has black pudding among its standard breakfast options! The bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep on each of the three nights I was there. The price at £60 for a single room was good value. The only slight downside was a lack of space around the facilities in the bathroom. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 15 was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

a group of us stayed here when on busniess for two nights. The gentleman who checked us in was very welcoming. The overall decoration of the building is dated- bold floral carpets and lots of frilly cushions. My room was comfitable although my shower never got warmer than a lukewarm. Other coleagues commented their showers suddenly went hot/cold. The walls are thin so no chance of a lie - I could hear nextdoors taps and even them switching the pullstring light on and off.

Good tea facilities in the room very good location. The hotel parking is curious- you are sometimes having to park in such a way so you have to block people in and if you are blocking someone in you are asked to leave your car keys behind reception so they can move it for you. Something I do not feel comfitable with.

However its a good cheap cheerful place to stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliewall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews