We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great value for money”
Review of The Sky 7 - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sky 7
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Check Website Www.sky7restaurant.co.uk
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great value for money”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have recently moved to the area and on a recommendation decided to visit for our wedding anniversary. We had one of the two set menus and the food was very well prepared and presented. It was also very good value for money. Chinese is not normally our first choice of cuisine if we are going out but it certainly won't be long before we go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit...”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Due to the continued demise of "The China Rose" in Shrewsbury, Sky 7 has become the best Chinese Restaurant in the Shrewsbury area. Always very busy,(booking recommended), the food is very good, authentic, tasty and well cooked. My partner and I have visited twice now and have left very satisfied on both occasions. My only query would be why no Chinese Curry dishes? There are Thai Curries for Curry Lovers but no Chinese. All in all well worth the 4 mile trip out of Shrewsbury just to avoid the Staff at the China Rose.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank z0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Why the name Sky 7 you may ask? Not the normal kind of name for a chinese restaurant. Apparently they are the initials of the Chinese owner and the 7 is because he is the seventh child.

The decor is really charming. The theme is two-tone blue - sky blue (naturally) and navy blue. The table cloths, napkins and tableware all conform to this colour scheme and are of a high standard. The restaurant itself is charming and has wonderful oak beams. There is ample car park space behind the restaurant and across the road, The views from the windows are lovely.

Incidentally, this is no longer a hotel just a really good quality oriental restaurant.

The service was excellent. The Malaysian waitress was charming, efficient and very attentive to our needs. It was the little extras we will remember most. The hot, prepacked towels were a nice gesture.

We chose to have the lunchtime special at £8.00 per head for two courses. There was ample food and was far too much for us to eat. The quality and presentation of the food would compare to any high class 5 star restaurant. We particularly liked the free appetizers which were hot prawn crackers - yummy !

This restaurant would be an Ideal venue for a business lunch and we will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hoped for better!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Not as good as I hoped really, the food was average and service was slow. There was no option to pay by card on the night either which we were only told about after we'd finished meaning a long trip to find a cash machine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recomended for a great meal.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Well worth a visit: huge choice, superb quality, very friendly. Will definately make a special journey there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osianwhughed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sky 7 also viewed

Hadnall, Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
Uffington, Shrewsbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing