We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”
Review of Hawks on Walks

Hawks on Walks
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is one thing I have wanted to do for years have a bird of prey land on my gloved hand and take food. We went on the walk with Tony and his Harris Hawk OSCAR Thank you Oscar.
Tony was very knowledgable and was in total controle of the bird at all times. After the walk we were allowed to hold three Owls what a treat and we could gentle stroke their chests.(You can not do that to the Harris Hawks)
For a different day out or a treat for a relative I would recommend this experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DecerningLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Knowledgable staff, well kept site good day out”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked a birds of prey experience for my Mom as a Birthday present through Groupon at £19. value of £68. We were a bit put out to find that should anyone wish to accompany her we would have to pay £10 per person. However on reflection it was well worth it. Standard Price of Hawk walk is £35 participant. (1 hr) £25
(1 hr ) spectator. However you can spend as long as you wish at the centre looking at birds, rabbits, etc. Also a lovely Farm shop and cafe site. Cafe has Sunday luch with local organic meat and veg. Homemade cakes scones etc very nice. All the preceeds from spectators fees go to bird wellfare, the centre also takes in injured birds.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank elmertheelephant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great birthday gift”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

What an experience - walking through woods north of Shrewsbury and with a bird of prey flying from your arm. A fabulous experience with a knowledgeable owner of the bird of prey. Good value morning out. Tip - wear wellies or similar.

Use of cafe and facilities prior to and after the event.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsIngleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Four of us had the pleasure of the hawk walk with Mark, who is extremely knowledgeable. The hawk, Khan, was great, a real character. He happily flew back to our gloved hands time and time again for his reward of a piece of meat. It was a lovely experience to get that close to the hawk, and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Meeting at the Battlefield Centre we were taken to the woods on the Albrighton Estate where the Battle of Shrewsbury took place and as we drove Mark gave us information about the battle and the estate. After arriving at the wood Mark unloaded his field cocker spaniel Lucy and his hawk gave us our gloves and off we went.It was fantastic to have a wild bird land on your hand and fly off and to see it in flight through the woods, Mark talked to us about the hawks and owls he keeps at the centre. We also
learnt a little geology about the surrounding area. The nicest thing was to have the hawk fly between the 2 of us just touching our hair with his wings.
A great afternoon out, not cheap £70 for 2 , no children under 14 are allowed but a once in a lifetime treat.
The Falconry centre is open just for a visit to see the birds who sit outside
great photo opportunities. There is also a coffee /tea shop, a small museum about the Battle of Shrewsbury and a Battlefield walk with information as you go around, a great day out for all the family.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawks on Walks also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Hawks on Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing