We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great”
Review of Number Four

Number Four
Ranked #5 of 353 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual and fresh
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently great”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having become addicted to Number 4s scrambled egg and smoked salmon muffins we do eat here very frequently. Unlike many cafes/restaurants every meal we've eaten here has been consistently excellent. The portion sizes are extremely generous and everything tastes great - perfectly seasoned and obviously fresh produce that is well sourced. The eggs are soo orange! The service is friendly and efficient - We've never waited more than 15 minutes for our food, even when they're very busy. We have a 7 month old, who is always made welcome, high chair provided. Would highly recommend the freshly squeezed orange juice and the fries with garlic mayo - yummy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vici-Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    152
    30
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coventry England
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So impressed”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a great choice and thank goodness we booked ahead. We had a table for eight on the Friday night and the placed was rammed. The place has real atmosphere and like everyone in the evening we were eating of the fixed menu. We were not disappointed by the quality. Whilst starters were certainly not large they were well presented and balanced. The main courses showed genuine thought and there was enough choice for all to feel satisfied. The wine was well priced and the service excellent despite the restaurant being full. Thank you NumberFour for making this a real occasion to cherish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury shropshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lunch with my best friend after she spotted all the excellent reviews on here. We were not in the least disapointed. I had a fish finger wrap with tartar sauce and gem lettuce. A fish finger wrap I hear you ask??? yes but they were home made fish fingers and were lush. My friend chose a hand pulled pork with red cabbage and rocket on a ciabatta roll which was delicious,I know because I had to have a taste and then rather grudgingly had to let her taste
mine hahaha. We had a side order of hand cut fries with home made garlic mayo, so delicious that we asked for a second pot, greedy pigs that we are. I had the 'still' home made lemonade which was delightful and my friend had a black coffee which she enjoyed. The service was excellent and very friendly and they were all very smiley too which was great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daybreak999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey for what is it.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A very pleasant restaurant with helpful waiting staff. They allow you plenty of time to choose and are happy to answer any questions. The eggs benedict are delicious but it is worth getting in before 12pm to access the breakfast menu, as many dishes are cheaper than on the lunchtime menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizeemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Culinary excellence!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday lunchtime for my wife's birthday, we defiantly did not leave disappointed! We both had the crispy chicken wraps and chips bernaise, really filling and excellent value for money. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth4826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number Four also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Number Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing