We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shrewsburys best kept secret”

Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: Recently opened January 2011 and located in the busy Market Hall in Shrewsbury, one of several cafe/restaurants in this building, serving traditional Mediterranean and African mezze
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Shrewsburys best kept secret”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had read the reviews on T.A so decided to visit at lunchtime today. Tucked away in a little corner of the amazing Shrewsbury Market Hall it really is a great place to have lunch. So different from anywhere else in the town. Great furniture and decor really authentic. We shared a vegetarian platter for £9 and it was beautiful a decent selection of 10 different mezze full of great flavour with flatbread! Wasnt too busy so service was prompt and friendly and the lovely lady that served us talked us through the different mezze. Very impressed and cant beleive I havent eaten here sooner especially when I asked the young man working how long they had been open and he said 3 years! where have I been all this time? Will be a regular visitor from now on and look forward to trying the rest of the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Harder than you'd think to find.... but worth finding!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Tucked away in between the "Psychology Shop" and the Calypso Nail Bar, this place doesn't feel much of a need to advertise - and when you eat there you know why! We had the speciality mint teas - the sweet Moroccan and the rather drier Lebanese - and both were packed with spearmint flavour. Even the smell made you glad to be alive on a very rainy day!

Then the meat mezze platter at £9.00: Sounds pricey, but worth every penny, with over a dozen Middle Eastern flavours jostling for attention on the plate. We honestly thought the deal would be like the Armenian Restaurant in Manchester - a platter for two arrived on a single very large plate for sharing - so when the first plate arrived, we started to split it between us thinking this was it.

And then the second full plate arrived.... along with copious flatbread.

What also made the place a delight was the attentive, lovely, blonde proprietor, who looked every inch a woman who takes job satisfaction in everything she does - and it shows. The complimentary mini-baklavas that arrived at the end were the very sweet icing on the cake, so to speak.

We will certainly be eating here again - a fully fledged restaurant could not have done better and she excelled in all departments.

Shame about the guy at The Psychology Shop, who didn't seem to be doing any business at all...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivienne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Surprise and Delight”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this gem located in Shrewsbury market hall we weren't sure if we were at the right place as there was no sign.
It does have a mish mash of furniture, including eastern Mediterranean tables and chairs, but that just adds to the charm of the place and gives it it's atmosphere. The cuisine is mainly eastern Mediterranean, served by a friendly and polite couple.
We ordered the dish of 9 mezzes and a pot of Moroccan mint tea between us. The tea arrived and was delicious, unfortunately, on the day we visited there was some delay as they were short staffed, and had received a large take out order, so there was some wait for our food. No problem, we just took the opportunity to relax, chat, and enjoy the tea.
When the food came it was sensational, and well worth the wait.
If you're in Shrewsbury, and like this type of cuisine and something a little different, try Mirage Mezze, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unusual little place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Found this place on tripadvisor before my visit to Shrewsbury at the weekend. The reviews were very good and it was more curiosity than anything that made me want to try it for myself. I was surprised to find a market hall cafe ranked at number 8 in all the restaurants in Shrewsbury. It took a while to find it as there wasn't a name sign above the cafe but found it after asking someone. The chairs and tables are a bit of a mismatch but the overall look is quite quaint. There's a Morrocan/Turkish influence on the menu with lots of bits and bobs to have a pick at while you drink your Morrocan mint tea or Turkish coffee. Well worth a visit. Staff are lovely and helpful. Little back street places like this deserve to do well. Shall return on my next visit to Shrewsbury.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Full of flavour but shame about the surroundings”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Initially quite difficult to find in the Shrewsbury Market Hall amongst all the market traders, it doesn’t seem to have any signage that I was aware of or could see at least, but asked a trader and he pointed me in the right direction.

The initial first impressions aren’t good, it’s an open plan café tucked at the back of the market hall and in honesty I didn’t feel inclined to eat there, but we did. Obviously it’s only open when the market hall is open during the day.

The pleasant surprise, however, was that the food was full of flavour and the service was courteous and friendly. This place is great if you want a lunch break for a couple of you, but obviously it’s not a restaurant, and only open during the day so it’s not a place to really take visitors, unless it’s for an unassuming bite to eat during the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing