We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great Autumnal Visit

I have been here many times before throughout the different seasons. I chose to visit here again... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Andrew M
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Grand and opulent

This must be among the upper end of the scale in terms of the NT's properties for grandeur. Clearly... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Alistair M
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Read all 2,191 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Shrewsbury
from $20.84
More Info
from $8.82
More Info
from $26.13
More Info
Reviews (2,191)
Filter reviews
2,191 results
Traveler rating
1,380
638
115
35
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,380
638
115
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden national trust nt property second hand bookshop picture gallery visited attingham beautiful house servants quarters glass roof deer walk stately home extensive grounds nt members play field room guides the main house book shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,191 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A variety of good walks on this large estate, many of the paths being wide and gritted, so no problems with mud! There is a beautiful huge walled garden with resident cat, woodland walk, deer park walk, river and more. While the house is large and the rooms which are open very good, the majority of these are on the ground floor and the servants’ rooms in the basement.
A wide choice of places to eat on the site.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 378lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attingham is my favourite local destination to run 5k and walk with the family. Running through the deer park and woodland is so peaceful. There is so much wildlife to see. The children love walking over the large fallen tree trunks and playing in the field. We all like to see the changes in the walled garden everytime we visit. The people who welcome you are friendly and helpful.
The only negative is the high price of food and drink.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank nogginthenoginsalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Attingham House on a lovely sunny day. The house was magnificent. the House had 8 lord Berwick. Attingham’s heyday started in early 1800s and we could see a lot of changing started from the 2nd Lord Berwick who overspent.
Finally, the House was revived by the 8th Lord and lady Berwick in 1920s. It was very impressive to see that if it were not the 8th Lord who bequeathed the house and the estate to the National Trust. We might not have had the opportunity to see this Attingham House.

The Drawing room was very interesting with many layers’ of family taste and acquisitions. We were very interested to see ‘Inner library’ which each Lord shared his interest in books. However, most of the books of the 2nd Lord were sold. The 8th Lord Berwick was particularly interested in modern fine printing and first editions.
The Dining Room was so grand and magnificent! We had the photo of the table set which was in the style of Russian service.
I was personally impressed to see the picture of the 8th Lord went out to give water to the Deer every morning even in winter!
We went to the kitchen and it was very nice and functional kitchen with many recipe of how to make pickles etc. We were lucky enough to be there at the time the lady who was in the kitchen put some cookies she made hot from the oven to the guests. The cookies were very tasty .

This House has given us something back home to think about ‘the meaning of life?’. After visiting to the House, we also spent our time at the Park.

This was a place must visit.

Again a great collections of so many things in the House, great architecture, and the family history from the hey day to the time that the 8th Lord Berwick revived the house and then gave the House to the National Trust.

Thanks again NT for the great work.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Preeya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on Monday..we did the house tour Attingham Hightlights which was free and very imformative.We had jacket potato in the cafe which was lovely but please dont put butter on potatoes, give butter on the side as not everybody likes or can eat butter. Walked to walled garden which was huge and very interesting to see how its restoration has come on through the last 11 years.Good day out and I will definitely return.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank CLAIRE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I travelled up to Shrewsbury this weekend just gone. We're from Hertfordshire and our friends were from Bedfordshire.
There's lovely walks around the grounds of Attingham Park and we took the mile walk following the river, which lead us back to the house.We had coffee in the very pleasant courtyard then went into the house.
Unfortunately just about all of the original furniture, paintings, and contents had to be auctioned many years ago as one of the past Lord Bewicks was bankrupted, poccessions had to be sold off however ,his brother rescued one or two pieces and sent furniture from Italy which is what you will see.
We also booked, and this is a must, a "behind closed doors" tour, this was the highlight of the visit, we were taken around by the "2nd Lord Bewick" ( a really wonderful volunteer by the name of Martin ) who brought the house to life.It was a fabulous ending to a thoroughly pleasant day definately worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank _judi_cameron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews