We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the hype!”
Review of Cantina Cafe - CLOSED

Cantina Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Believe the hype!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Came here after hearing many positive reviews from friends and family. Was pleasantly suprised that it was as good as everyone had been saying. We had the roulette wings to start (be very careful..) I had the pulled-pork burger as a main and it was fantastic! We also sampled a couple of the cocktails on offer and they were delicious. Shall definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    34
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent experience.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was told about this place being excellent for breakfast.. so I ventured down and was not disappointed so went again for an evening meal with the girlfriend and had some of the best cocktails and the burgers were big and juicy, great value for money and we both won't be hesitating about going back, excellent, 5 stars all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Really welcoming, relaxing place with friendly, attentive service and delicious food. The sharing platter of starters was particularly tasty and good value. A very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeardleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My mum took me there for my Birthday, I had never heard of it or passed it.........what a find! The service was great, cocktail lush, wine fantastic and food the best! Having never heard of it I will definitely be going back very soon, thank you cantina cafe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E1cop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for shrewsbury!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Its the sort of place you would expect in a big city like London or Manchester, lovely decor. Ive had the pleasure to visit the pantry during the day for breakfast and the food was amazing. My friend had an english breakfast and i had smoked salmon on muffins. Yum! On the same night i took my hubby for a mexican. He totally fell in love with the place. He had a long island iced tea (and is a tough cookie to please) but he said it was wonderful! His eyes were bigger than his belly though and you get so much food we couldnt manage to finish our main meals, it was a bit gutting because we wanted to try the spanish doughnuts. My hubby is now demanding to go again to try the chorizo burger! I've recommended this place to people at work. Its great shrewsbury has lovely hidden gems like this! Screw the big chains in the town this place is lovely and great for the town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Cafe also viewed

Hadnall, Shrewsbury
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Uffington, Shrewsbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing