We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3rd visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good 3rd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at the hotel. This time we stayed in a room at the back of the hotel which was much better as it did not suffer from traffic noise. Again it was very hot so the windows needed to be kept open, they do however provide a portable fan if you can put up with the noise. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast as always was first class. The rooms are very well maintained and clean.
Only one issue is that they have significantly increased the room tariffs over the last 12 months. So it's becoming an expensive overnight stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    175
    62
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
362
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Made a last minute booking for a couple of nights at the Lion and Pheasant. Car park a bit tricky to find but having checked in we enjoyed an excellent meal in the Hotel restaurant. Our first night sleep was not quite so good as our room was flood lit by the outside streetlight on the hotel wall. We spoke with reception in the morning who quickly showed us an alternate room and then arranged a swift room swap - our second nights sleep was so much better. Shrewsbury is an interesting town to visit, we never moved the car for our short break and would certainly return to both the town and the Lion & Pheasant

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy and street lights a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agden5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Apart from a very difficul narrow entrance to the rear car park everything was just perfect.The stairs were very steep but helpful staff would take your case to your room. A nice large room with a very comfortabe bed. A bit noisy with the traffic but earplugs were provided. Downstairs was decorated well with a large bar area. Outside were plenty of tables to enjoy the weather a drink or food. The resturant was on two levels upstairs serving the most delicious meals and plenty of it. The wine list was very extensive with prices very reasonable.The Staff were superb in all aspects. We were able to get into our room two hours earlier.My Son joined us for breakfast on the Sunday morning and when I went to pay for it I was told to forget it, no charge.You don't get that in many places these days.On the whole a very delightful stay and will be going again soon. It is a good idea to book well in advance to stay or even to have an evening meal. It is a very popular place and fills up very quickly

Room Tip: All rooms are good but try to get a room at the rear if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Despite having booked at the last minute and in the holiday season, we were not disappointed. The staff were very pleasant and our evening meal was fine and sensibly priced. Breakfast provided an interesting and enjoyable choice. Our room was not large but immaculate except for a small patch of mould in the shower. The linen and towels were spotless and crisp.
This town centre hotel is a must for anyone who likes the boutique and 'arty 'style !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock Chase
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

In may respects, that title is irrelevant, because it refers to functions attended away from The L+P. However, because we were staying at this marvellous little hotel, the nights were great and not spoiled by inferior accomodation.
The place looks and feels very modern, and yet it is an anciet building in a very old town. The sheets are "crisp and white" , not to mention clean, as are the rooms. Everything you need for an overnighter is there. It is just SO stylish and yet completely understated.
Although we've only done b'fast (and a quick lunch bite) I would happily dine there; I have faith in the kitchens.
And the staff? Top notch, without a doubt. Special mention must be made of the night porters (may be the same chap each time: wasn't in the best of states to remember...) Heroic. Bloody heroic. Coping with the (mad) requests of guests who should know better is a real social skill, and they/he did it with aplomb. "Fish and chips at 1am? No problem. I'll just get a taxi to fetch them" and "Extra blankets and pillows for guests who were "late booking in" ?(aherm) -no worries"
No one should ever worry about using this super place. In fact, don't wait until you "need" to go to Shrewsbury. Find an excuse to go to The L+P. Just fab.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are provided for those disturbed by road noise, but aren't really necessary. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night here en route from seeing friends in North Wales so did not need to eat dinner. Arrived quite late on hottest night of the year and were shown up to the Loft Suite. It was like entering a sauna! I quickly asked the young man who took us up if there was a fan and he managed to find one. As the bulb had blown, we thought, on my bedside light he said he would get a replacement. On returning he also brought a second fan which we were extremely pleased about. Initiative! The room is delightful but not sensible to book if you are 6 ft 4 as the beams do rather get in the way. The bedside lamp still didn't work. Fuse? We did sleep as the night cooled down and one window was wide open, not to mention the 2 fans.

Good pleasant service therefore all round and lovely smoked salmon with scrambled eggs for breakfast. The only thing which rather let it down was the inferior cartonned orange juice. This jarred with the quality of everything else.

We would definitely stay again and hopefully have dinner next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langalenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited Shrewsbury only for one day and stayed in this hotel for only one night. Although there was a bit of an inconvenience surrounding our booking (we had reserved for the night we were there, but were charged for not showing up the day before!), this was nicely solved by giving us an upgrade to a really beautiful and comfortable room - although it was a bit noisy outside in the evening as a result of people having drinks in the garden. We also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which we found excellent; the wine list was very good and the food was just perfect. Breakfast was equally good, so we would certainly recommend eating here if you decide to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Property: Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing