We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, in our opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night to break up a long drive home from North Wales. We picked the hotel based on its reviews and top ranking in Trip Advisor.

The building itself if nice and the decoration modern. We had a double room and requested a quiet room at the back of the hotel (as advised by other reviewers). The room (no. 9) was on the small size but adequate for our needs, however the bed was very small (a double, but small) but again not a big deal.

I'm afraid to say we didn't completely enjoy the experience. We both had a terrible nights sleep due to a combination of factors: busy and noisy road (probably made worse by sash windows) and noisy neighbours (creaky floor boards, thin walls, slamming doors etc.).

Breakfast was OK but not stunning (over cooked bacon, undercooked egg). Wifi in our room was available but weak and therefore not useful.

So, all-in-all, just average. We're not particularly picky people but we were hoping for a more enjoyable stay than the one we had (and had just returned from in North Wales - see previous review). Not sure we'd stay again but all the other reviewers can't be wrong!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 644 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a double room at the last minute as we wanted to break our long journey to Wales.

The hotel has a lovely, homely atmosphere, especially in the bar area, and this carries through to the rooms. Having booked at the last minute, we fully expected to get a small room, but this wasn't the case at all. We were in room number 1 which almost has a little entrance hall and it was a very nice size for what is classified as their standard double.

The decor is simple, but very stylish and our room was spotlessly clean and tidy with phone, tv and iPod dock.

The service is friendly and helpful, and there was a great choice at breakfast - cereals, toast, pastries and a fully cooked breakfast. There is also a car park at the back of the hotel.

I would definitely come again - thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely hotel and very convenient for all the town has to offer. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Rooms were very stylish and staff very pleasant. Did not have an evening meal so unable to comment. Ordered the eggs benedict for breakfast which arrived perfectly cooked. If staying in the area again will be back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy. If I go back would request a room elsewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We received a very warm welcome when we got there. Had a fabulous room - quiet, simply decorated, clean and warm (it was very cold that weekend). Supper in the restaurant was a real treat and the staff were very helpful - even loaning us an umbrella for the rain.Easy walk into town.

Wll definitely go back and would highly recommend it for a great place in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trysh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed Feb in Room 20, on second floor overlooking the river and bridge. Its a Boutique Hotel with lots of stylish ideas which overall, work well. Car park is very tight - if you have a small car, take it. Fall back - NCP is almost opposite. Its much much nicer inside than it looks from the road. Bedrooms are stylish, light grey and white. Beds very comfy but pillows too soft for us. Everything you need is in the room. Overall Quality is high. Good range of drinks in the room, homemade shortbreads was nice touch. Quality toiletries, good shower. The most luxurious towels we've ever had. Slipers if you need them. Samll lobby into roo meant no noise from the hotel. We ate with friends on the first evening - starters of homemade pate with soda bread and gravalax done their way - different but worked well. Complimentary soda bread on the table. Main course we had Turbot which my collegue said was excellent. We had the beef which was beautifully pink and tender served on a bed of potato and vegetables but we opted for extra vegetables (carrots, broccoli, red cabbage with sultanas & dauphinoise potato beutifully cooked and presented and loads of it).
We had breakfast both mornings: carafe of orange juice on each table, choice of nuts, seeds, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, honey etc. Full English was excellent as was the Eggs Benedict and the Scrambled eggs with salmon on a toated muffin. Everywhere was warm, with roaring fire downstairs. Good beer and wine choice. Short walk to the river, 15 min walk to the Theatre, 5 Mins into town. Friendly knowledgable staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here as a weekend getaway, having found the hotel on this site. Arrival was not a great start as the free carpark was full (it is tiny so beware) and had to leave car in the NCP. This turned out to be just across the road and 24 hour so not a complete disaster. Book in staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was excellent, with the staff being attentive without becoming obtrusive. A few drinks in the popular bar rounded off a lovely evening. Only drawback was the noise from the kids running up and down at 6 the next morning! Overall a lovely hotel with great staff and a enjoyable ambience. I would recommend a stay but also earplugs (which are supplied...).

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the top at the back so you don't get the noise of footsteps or the road in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and ate every night. The food was brilliant on every occasion and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Plus they know their food and drink which helps no end.
If I could give 2 extra stars to make up for the review below then I would.
I find it unfair that someone would write a review with details that has little or nothing to do with how the hotel and staff performed.
I was also in the bar that evening and found the conversations rather entertaining! They kept themselves to themselves and caused no trouble.
The staff dealt with them perfectly, this alone deserves 5 stars!
Don't hesitate to book a room or table here, it is definitely worth it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e11ie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $142 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing