We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Machynlleth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed there last night on a last minute deal managed to get a double room for 85 instead of 99 have to say I was very impressed the staff were lovely and very helpful and the room was spacious and comfy and very well presented. The breakfast was fantastic since it was included no buffet just order what you want. Was very very pleased with my stay and will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    171
    62
    16
    6
See reviews for
51
362
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Checked in for a weekend visiting friends in the area. Arrived and parking was very limited, but we did manage to get a space for 1 evening. Room beautiful however light bulb out in the shower- reception told but this was not fixed during our stay. Fans from the kitchen are noisy as is the dining room(located on the 1st floor) directly underneath the room. However, noise stopped by midnight. Bed very comfortable, breakfast good but buffet not overly extensive.

Room Tip: Loft suite at the back but next to the kitchen and an upstairs dining room. Road at the front could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkKaTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked in at the hotel on a freezing cold Wednesday in late November for girlfriend's birthday and Christmas shopping visit to Shrewsbury. Log fire was lit and we enjoyed a few late afternoon local ales at the bar before having dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was one of the best I've experienced, starting with ham hock terrine with piccalilli for myself and scallops for my girlfriend were cooked perfectly. For the mains we enjoyed fish pie and beef fillet in an Ox jus with dauphinoise potatoes and variety of veg, this was so full on flavour. For dessert we shared chocolate terrine which was just right for us, sometimes they can be too bitter but this was delicious. Finished the evening off in front of the roaring fire with an espresso martini. Everything was just right, would definitely return. Better than The Hand & Flowers in Marlow.

The hotel itself is modern but still has many of its old 16th/17th century features and the rooms are warm, clean and fully equipped for what you need. We stayed in a front room snug and its on the road but wasn't noisy at all. The hotel really does seem to get everything right. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: The snug doubles are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Tried to book a party of 50 for out of season months in advance but was told i couldnt because they get very busy?! what! if i am willing to book when noone else is there in January and take the bedrooms surly you would reserve it? But no! I think the receptionist/events coordinator needs a lesson on business!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 305Monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your experience in seeking to make a dinner reservation for your party of 50 in the spring.

The Lion and Pheasant is fully booked most weekends, - both for meals and accommodation .
Judgement calls have to be made in dealing with enquiries – particularly in terms of the numbers, and timings of non-resident reservations that we can accept. Also, we prioritise our hotel guests with dinner reservations, leaving limited availability to accept non-resident bookings, especially from large parties such as yours.

Our management and front-of-house team respond to all enquiries on an individual basis, and on this occasion it was felt that acceptance of your booking on the specific dates and times that you requested could compromise our ability to deliver the high quality service which we endeavor to provide for all our guests.

Once again I regret that we can’t accommodate you on this occasion and I would like to thank you for your interest in seeking to make a booking with us. I hope we will be able to accommodate you at some other future date .

Jim Littler
.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent atmosphere, excellent food,friendly staff, and the room was cozy and comfortable. I had a room at the front of the hotel and had no problems with noise......what noise?

If your looking for somewhere away from the big chains where the rooms are different, this is the place to go. Would defo stay their again and would highly recommend to anyone.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

this will be our 2nd visit to the lion and pheasant,i can recomend the cocktail bar,found the rooms to very nice,and the breakfast was a fantastic start to the day,found the staff to be very friendly,if your a cider drinker they do aspals in the cocktail bar,fantastic pint,if your looking for a weekend away give it a try,shopping real good aswell,see you all soon mr amd mrs morris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1967186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This small hotel is really lovely. Very comfortable beds/rooms and bathrooms very well equipped. Excellent menu for both lunch and dinner and a very lively bar, with a cosy log fire in the rear room. Large dining areas upstairs with beams etc for atmosphere and the 'crystal' room with mirrors and chandeliers is lovely. The food is great - reasonable prices and the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. A great stay and will be back!

Room Tip: we were on the front but didn't find it noisy, so not sure it matters?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiniNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewsbury
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Property: Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing