We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sydney House
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$71
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$94
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
56
84
19
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
84
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreshampoo and soapfacilities neededtea and coffee trayfirst floorfull english breakfastrashers of baconsingle roombreakfasts were greatoff road parkingchoice of cerealsminute walkiron and ironing boardyogurtquiet at nightgood sizesmall bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 170 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a lovely clean welcoming hotel. We were on the very top floor so room on the small side but spotless and included all the amenities needed. The friendliness of the staff was 5 star and the breakfast was beautiful. A choice was offered from full English, and I mean a full breakfast, to kippers Poached eggs Etc, and the usual fruit juice, fruit and cereal. Private car park, with only a few minutes walk into town by the side of the River Seven Would recommend it A lovely relaxing hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have difficulty with stairs. as they are very steep.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERYLMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the end of August along with our 3 West Highland Terriers..and indead the owner had a lovely wee Westie too called Ellie
Our room was on the first floor and ws perfact for all our our requirements and very clean and smart..
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, with loads of choice
I would deffently return here if in the area again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for one midweek night. Old fashioned traditional quality bed and breakfast establishment. Very polite, welcoming host. Reasonable rates. The room was fairly large spotlessly clean and had both a bath and a shower. The bed was massive and one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in. Breakfast was cooked to order and as such was fresh and plentiful. The hotel is on a quiet road and has a car park. It is about a 10 minute walk into Shrewsbury town center. There are three old fashioned type pubs very close to the hotel. Would recommend and will return

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildcats8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We only stayed for the one night, the welcome was very friendly, the room and bathroom not overlarge but very comfy and cosy. Have travelled a lot and stayed in very many B&B's, this one is the most well equipped I have come across, there was even a floor stang fan, iron and ironing board. The only downside is that the stairs are quite steep, but well worth the climb. Would definately stay again. Free parking was awelcom bonus.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floor are up quite steep stairs, ask for a 1st floor room if you don't think you can manage them, the stairs to the 1st floor aren't as steep
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbjcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was one that looked promising on the booking page, but I could not have anticipated how wonderful it actually was. The greeting by the owner was most friendly and courteous, even switched rooms for me to accomodate my difficulty climbing multiple flights of stairs. The room was ample and bright with lovely decorations; not at all overstated, just comfortable and comforting.

A special delight was Susie, the evening attendant, who recommended a good choice of restaurants according to my expressed menu desires. I favored one of her recommendations so much that I brought back a menu for them to offer to subsequent guests.

The quality of service here is unsurpassed and the "full English" breakfast was so abundant -- and good! -- that I fared well throughout the rest of the day.

Price is highly reasonable and the service and quality could hardly be better. Thanks to all at Sydney House!

Room Tip: Just ask according to your need -- they'll take good care of you!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotusport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews