We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel, high standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sydney House
Ranked #19 of 54 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Birmingham ,England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel, high standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel very good with reasonable rates. The breakfast was excellent- good choice and generous portions. It's convenient for the town centre - about 10-15 minute walk along the riverside, so not far to go for a meal in the evenings. The bedroom we had was of adequate size and had all ther facilities needed to help make the stay more comfortable.
We had one slight issue but this was resolved very satisfactorily by the owner Alistair Coltman.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
68
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

stayed here a couple of weeks ago
ideal,not far from town center,good breakfast
every thing you need for your travel,also clean and friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crimp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The cleanliness of the room and bathroom stood out so much I had to start my review with it! Other that that, I loved the location just 5 minutes walk from the railway station and a picturesque riverside is a part of that walk, the breakfast is hot and fresh with ample amounts of food, service is friendly and attentive, and my first floor room was so quiet and cosy I slept for 10 hours straight for the first time in many months! I can probably see why someone could consider the room small, but I've been around the UK enough to know that even the most expensive hotel rooms there are pretty small compared to what you would find in countries such as the USA, Greece, Canada, etc. The room was comfortable enough for me and I'm considerably bigger than the average guy.

Room Tip: Although I was pretty comfortable in my room, they told me that if I book early I have a better chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port talbot
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are looking for a good guest house in the area, this is the best.
Staff are helpful, breakfast very nice.
Rooms are a little small and up quite steep stairs but are cery well appointed.
Its in super position and is worth every penny, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at Sydney house for 2 nights. I found my room clean and comfortable with clean linen and a decent sized bathroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. The free breakfast included in the room rate was more then fulfilling. Sydney house is just a short walk from the bus station, train station and town centre. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to travelling friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gap_stud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here in the first weekend in March and was greatly impressed.
The room was large and very comfortable & the breakfast was superb. I did have some dietary requirements and these were catered for.

The hotel is situated a short walk from the city centre and I would cerainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Engand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a lovely hotel, room very good, plenty of tea and coffee, owners very pleasent. Breakfast was excellent. Short walk into the town of Shrewsbury (about 8 minutes). And a carpark.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#5 of 54 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing