We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,481)
Filter reviews
1,481 results
Traveler rating
635
453
222
111
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
635
453
222
111
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking chambers restaurant royalist restaurant suits of armour complimentary sherry fish street cobbled street upgraded to a suite modern bathroom lovely hotel car park four poster bed sat nav central location old building centre of town one way system
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,481 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Prince Rupert hotel Shrewsbury me my sister and freind stayed for 2 nights again in September 2019 again what a lovely stay Beccles and owner again amazing and all staff and real treat look forward to next year brilliant location brilliant food brilliant staff thank you soooooo much

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

Shrewsbury is a great town with plenty to occupy any visitor. This hotel is in the centre of town And therefore ideally placed to access all the attractions on foot. Breakfast is served each morning by a very obliging staff indeed all the staff are welcoming and helpful with plenty of local knowledge and recommendations.
We were given a suite which quietly overlooks Church Passage and couldn't have been more comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank john y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful historic inn in a great location but needs a lot of work.Our room on arrival was unsatisfactory however another room was quickly arranged, it was tiny, modern bathroom but uncomfortable bed and towels that don’t dry you. Bar area and entrance are drab, not even a bunch of flowers to try and bring some life. Staff were polite and helpful. Sadly I would not choose to stay again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Z1764QTdianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

I just had room 116 in the hotel. 2 colleagues had 2 other rooms. All basic class rooms. Can only be described as grim. Small, dirty. Outdated. My bathroom was filthy. Shower fittings rusty ,mouldy. Bathroom suite dark green and toilet just had a white seat fitted. Hinge had come loose so it was a side to side event. The basin taps were odd taps also dirty. Back of toilet filthy and dusty. Mirrors,windows filthy. Steel framed windows pre war I’m guessing. Staff were not only unhelpful but impolite. 1 of my colleagues demanded a room change and he got what just the same. Breakfast in the morning was in a dimly lit room where there was actually 3 light fittings not working it was almost dark. The whole place is tired and will not be visiting again. I don’t get some of the other 4/5 star reviews - must be another Prince Rupert in Shrewsbury. Blimey

Room tip: Look for somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martinsO1228QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Stayed for a Saturday night in August and highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Shrewsbury. From the moment we arrived the staff were excellent, the valet parking is quick and convenient and the reception was friendly and helpful. We were given a suite at the back of the hotel with real character and we didnt hear a sound from outside all night. The hotel is in a fabulous location in the heart of Shrewsbury within walking distance of lots of great bars and restaurants. Great nights sleep and a nice fresh cooked breakfast. Can’t thank the hotel enough for making a wedding anniversary stay a really special occasion.

Room tip: Very quiet at rear of hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews