We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince Rupert Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$135
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$65
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haughmond(Upton Magna)
$119
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveler rating
519
408
199
100
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
408
199
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingchambers restaurantroyalist restauranton arrivalsuits of armourcomplimentary glass of sherryvalet serviceupgraded to a suitefish streetcobbled streetmodern bathroomcar parkfour poster bedlovely hotelsat navcentral locationold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
979 - 984 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent location in the middle of old Shrewsbury. Arrived at the door down some narrow lanes. There is valet parking so the car is taken away and returned when you leave. Check in friendly and efficient enough. Tiny lift - one person with luggage at a time only. Room very small and tired, lumpy bed, tiny desk, just about cat swinging room. Bathroom very small too. Decent breakfast and OK dinner but, in the evening especially, service was very slow, even though the restaurant was almost empty. One starter arrived cold after a 45 minute wait! One evening with a group of us they got several of the orders wrong! Not able to charge drinks to room. Failed to get a morning call three mornings in a row. A pity that a hotel in such a great spot underperformed on so many fronts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in Prince Rupert Suite Saturday 16th Feb for our anniversary. Check in smooth but receptionist rather flustered! Our suite was large with ample sized bathroom with quirky uneven floors. Only downside was lack of shower so hair washing a little tricky!
Room very quiet as at back of hotel so no problems there. Four poster bed was horrendously creaky!! Woke with every move through the night.......
Hotel ideal as only a short walk from town centre.
Breakfast very nice with good service even if waitress a little grumpy .....
We enjoyed our stay however and would stay again.
Only complaint really is that we had to pay £12.50 to use wifi !!! Should be free when paying £145 for the night...........
Felt that room was very overpriced and we have stayed in much nicer places with free wifi for half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 109Rayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from a weekend break in Shrewsbury with my girlfriend and family members, where we had a very pleasant stay at the Prince Rupert Hotel.

The hotel is centrally located on Butcher Row and has the added advantage of being situated within throwing distance of 2 of Shrewsbury's best real ale pubs, The Three Fishes and The Loggerheads. I was very happy about that part!

The hotel doesn't have an onsite car park, but operates a valet parking service to a private car park nearby free of charge. You'll need to request your car 30 mins in advance when leaving.

The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. Being Valentines weekend i'd requested a rose and chocolates for my partner to be put in the room as a surprise and these were duly delivered as promised.

The breakfast room was really nice, full of historical memorability and very comfortable. The food itself was good, plenty of choices of cereal, fruit, croissants etc. and the full English breakfast itself was well cooked (i'd have liked a larger portion but i'm a big eater!)

All in all, a very nice hotel in a cracking location (a couple of small niggles - the lift is the smallest i've ever seen and a tv facing the bed rather than the corner of the room would have been nice, but these are very minor points).

I'd certainly stay here again when returning to Shrewsbury and recommend highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STOKIEGOLFGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed over in the Prince Rupert for one night..
Struggled to find the place at first, after asking someone in the bar, recommended putting Fish Street in sat nav, this will bring you up on the road in front of the hotel.
Didn't use valet parking, parked on the street as I needed to get up early in the morning.
The receptionist who checked us in was lovely, great service.
Stayed in a nice large room, with twin beds, a desk, table and chairs, tv and a modern bathroom.
Had breakfast.. a good selection of cheeses, meats, cereals, juices etc.. hot breakfast was in the price which was ok but not fabulous.
Overall an average stay at the Prince Rupert Hotel.. nothing really stood out to give it a very good or excellent rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wise_frog_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We Stayed at the 3 star Prince Rupert Hotel on Saturday 16th Feb with friends for a birthday weekend away. We booked 2 standard rooms on a B & B basis. The hotel is situated right in the heart of historic Shrewsbury.
Check in was smooth & efficient,The hotel parks your car for you off site.The room we were allocted was room11. It is situated within the 15th century wing of the building. ajacent to the 4 poster suite rooms 6 & 7 which are reputed to have there own ghostly spirits.Our room was adequatly furnished with a some very quirky features including sloping bathroom floor and beamed ceiling We are pleased to say that we encountered a silent night with NO disruptions apart from the church clock chiming.
Breakfast was excellent with cold buffet & FULL englsh served to your table friendly and attenetive staff. We sat chatting for quite a while after breakfast & did not feel intimidated to move.
The reception has a secure holding area for your luggage if you feel like a final wander around the town prior to requesting your car to be retrieved from the car park.
Overal we will definately return to the Prince Rupert but would only go if we can have one of the "feature" rooms in the old wing again.

Room Tip: Rquest a room in the 15th century wing rooms 1 to 12
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews