We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding reception”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Ranked #28 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding reception”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a very last minute wedding reception to plan and locate. As ye old bucks head is so near to the registry office it was ideally located. The spread they put on was imaginative and suited all tastes and was excellent value for money. The beer garden and sun terrace lent themselves to being part of the photographs andif it hadn't been a bit cool we would have done so. One of the guests stayed overnight and was well pleased with the accomodation and food. Well done and thank you very much. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. (this was back in September and apologise for not placin the review sooner)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
49
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint,Fintshire.
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Inn,Great location for town centre,warm welcome,warm & clean room,full breakfast,car park,Fantastic value,I've read some negative reviews about the Inn which is crazy,would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was disappointed by Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn. Granted, it was cheaper than the competition at £50 per double room per night, but I had expected more personality and attention to details.

Pros:
- clean in the important places - sheets, toilet, shower, sink (but see below)
- bed was comfortable
- breakfast was cheap (but see below)
- nice elephant shape made with towels on the bed when we arrived (but see below)

Cons:
- stank of fried food (we were above the kitchen)
- shower was a trickle (bath tap pressure much better for some reason so can't be due to heavy usage at that time of day) and took 5 mins for hot water to reach it.
- a closer look revealed a lack of thorough cleaning. We had to move some furniture to make space for an airbed for our son and I was slight reluctant even to let him sleep so close to the floor as all the corners were filthy. When I was then prompted to look elsewhere it wasn't much better.
- breakfast croissants were dry and unappetising and the sausages were absolutely revolting. They were clearly simply the cheapest available. I wished I had gone elsewhere and spent more for less quantity.
- lack of attention to detail and care in the room setup. e.g. lack of sockets. They were mostly behind furniture and inaccessible - the great full length mirror had no socket anywhere near it to plug in the supplied hairdryer... has anyone actually thought about this rather than just placed the required items in the room?
- The bar on the top of the skylight window frame was hanging off by one strip of metal - and this was where it was recommended that we put our child to sleep. Maintenance required.
- The same window did not have an effective blind.
- Blinds on all windows were very grubby.
- One mug had a crack through it that then leaked boiling tea all over the place. Just not noticed by anyone in advance.
- Only one bath towel (3 people in the room - double room but they knew we were bringing a child) - despite 5 tiny hand towels being arranged to look like an elephant on the bed! go figure...

I wouldn't recommend this as a place to stay unless ALL you want is cheap (which is why this is not a 1 rating) - and there appear to be other options for the same price. This place has such potential due to the building, but I was disappointed at the lack of management attention to detail and the lack of imagination that could turn this from a cheap place to just lay your head into somewhere stylish and pleasureable to stay in.

"Could do (a lot) better".

Room Tip: Not the rooms above the kitchen. Avoid rooms 9/10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here and the experience was very pleasant, and just 'as advertised' on the website. Rooms were small but comfortable, and facilities very good. The staff were all extremely helpful and could not have done more to assist. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pee,l Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Inn looked great, but the rooms looked tired and if you wanted a bath or shower you would have to bring your own soap,shampoo etc. all we had was a piece of soap about the size of a two pence, there was no bath towels,when asked for shampoo and shower gel the landlady said they dont supply them.
The meal was good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Bucks Head is a lovely old pub that has a pleasantly unchanging atmosphere.
The beer, food and welcome here are all that they could be, and the room prices very reasonable too.
The bedroom was bright and pleasing. Walking distance of Shrewsbury town centre so no need to take the car in. I would be glad of the chance to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped off here while looking for somewhere to stay for a night on our way to North Wales. It looked charming from the outside and indeed, on the inside! There is a decent carpark and the minute we stepped in we were greeted with a warm welcome. The staff were lovely and I can strongly recommend the Darwin ale!

We were given a room in the 'old part.' It was lovely, with a decent bathroom and comfy bed. Oh, and extremely creaky floorboards! It was clean, and the towels left on the bed were arranged in what I assume was meant to represent male and female! It did make us chuckle ;-)

The location was perfect for exploring Shrewsbury too. I would also recommend having breakfast for a fiver. Very nice!

In fact, the only negative thing I can say is that we were unable to open the bedroom window (it looked like it had been sealed.) There wasn't any windows in the bathroom either. This meant that by morning, the room was a little stuffy and it would have been nice to let some fresh air in. Just a small point, but in summer this might be more of an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#10 of 55 in Shrewsbury
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#13 of 55 in Shrewsbury
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hambrook House
Hambrook House
#4 of 55 in Shrewsbury
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Biggies Boutique Hotel
#36 of 55 in Shrewsbury
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

Property: Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Address: 53 Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bucks Head Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing