We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel in ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Trewern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you don't want to stay in the city but have great access then stay here. We were here for business in Wolverhampton and the commute was convenient (aside from road works on the M54). The hotel is welcoming with quaint bar and eating area and nice selection of meals, including buffet breakfast that was value for money given the fair prices of the rooms. The shower was great and beyond spacious and I admit to liking the in shower dispensers of soaps rather than the cheezy-tiny plastic give-aways that you can never get anything out of. Parking is free and you vehicle can be seen from most rooms and despite the hotel being next to the motorway...we never heard it at all!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, room 22 I think - which the window was toward the car park and had a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear that you found the hotel location convenient for your stay , and I hope you will come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Shrewsbury.Thanks for your comments regarding the bar,our eating area,breakfast,shower,free parking etc

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our staff, I will pass this on to them and they will be very pleased. We always strive to give the best Guest Service we can.


Kind Regards

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    253
    101
    39
    14
See reviews for
96
304
34
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent one night here and were greeted by a smiling, friendly receptionist who dealt promptly with us. Our room was large, clean, colourful and the bath towels were enormous, the shower powerful. Tea and coffee provided. Breakfast was substantial enough for us and a group of large gentlemen, being self-service you could eat as much as you wanted. Check out was by another friendly member of staff.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially as we had stayed the previous 3 nights in a dreadful hotel a couple of hundred miles away. It might be a chain of hotels but it restored our faith in UK hotels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greystones23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

I am absolutely glad to read your comments around service I am happy you liked the Check in process,the room, the breakfast- we work extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay - I am so pleased we hit the mark - I cannot wait to share your feedback with the team.

We all really hope to see you again the next time you are in the UK.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel in order to visit the Wroxeter vineyard, the location is great and only a few minutes from the city centre. The room was clean and had everything for overnight stays. Breakfast was included and was adequate and was frequently restocked. I would not recommend the evening menu, it is overpriced for the quality of the food, but if you don't want to go into the city it is OK. For the price we paid it was good value and I would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 788moaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us your review of your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

It's great to read that you found us nice & clean - we are in the business of just that. we work hard to ensure we keep this ticking over well.Hope you enjoyed the Wroxeter vineyard as well and yes you are right in saying we only few minutes away from the location.We are working on our evening menu as well so that we can provide variety to our guest.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived late but staff were helpful and sincere. Layout is not thrilling but it is a modern building. Once in our room we found a very comfortable spacious bedroom. The bed was large, there were plenty of plugs for all of our gadgets. The shower room was clean and usable. The toilet seat was flimsey to say the least and no toilet brush!!! Breakfast was self serve and practical for the working people. Food was OK but nothing special. The hotel gave good value for money and is as expected for this class of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.
It's great to read that you came to stay with us again and found our hotel clean and friendly

Thanks for mentioning the good service from our staffs,the room,the sower.these small things makes a huge lot of difference.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Best Wishes,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at this property in its many guises, but now it is a Holiday Inn Express.
Efficient check in, room very large with a double bed, single bed, large TV with UK Freeview channles. Also a comfy armchair and a proper "office" chair on wheels that swivels along with a larger than normal workstation.
Room and bathroom very clean, very large soft white towels and all toiletries you would need.
Air con also in this room.
Chose to have evening meal here, but due to nature of hotel their cooking capabilities are limited so not much choice on the menu. had a burger with bacon, cheese and chips but not worth the £11 paid. There are many other eateries in the area if you have transport.
Most amusing part was them issuing a "token" to exit the car park, when the "IN" barrier had been removed and you could egress that way anyway!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury .

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us . We really do appreciate your comments and they really do encourage us to do our best for our guests.
We are working on our evening menu to give some more variety to our customer.Regarding the IN barrier one of our customer drove into the barrier and we are still waiting for a parts for it to be fixed.

I do so hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great value clean and modern hotel on outskirts of city but only a £5 taxi ride to centre . Easy to find in quiet commercial location , large air conditioned rooms and a shame no proper restaurant but at this price you can't have everything

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor about your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us We look forward to welcoming you back to upon your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a great one night stay in this lovely hotel. Excellent staff. Felt welcomed from the time i checked in. The staff looked after me very well...Would definitely recommend everyone travelling to the area to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind custom! They say opportunity knocks at the door once, but you are helping add into the pool of our valuable guests who are making this the exception and repeat guests a rule! We are extremely pleased that we could serve you again and my team wishes to serve you many more times in future too.

Think of us when you think of Shrewsbury , every time!

Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing