We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are touring by car or motorcycle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great if you are touring by car or motorcycle”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great value clean and modern hotel on outskirts of city but only a £5 taxi ride to centre . Easy to find in quiet commercial location , large air conditioned rooms and a shame no proper restaurant but at this price you can't have everything

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor about your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us We look forward to welcoming you back to upon your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    271
    111
    45
    15
See reviews for
105
326
35
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a great one night stay in this lovely hotel. Excellent staff. Felt welcomed from the time i checked in. The staff looked after me very well...Would definitely recommend everyone travelling to the area to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind custom! They say opportunity knocks at the door once, but you are helping add into the pool of our valuable guests who are making this the exception and repeat guests a rule! We are extremely pleased that we could serve you again and my team wishes to serve you many more times in future too.

Think of us when you think of Shrewsbury , every time!

Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a most enjoyable night stay here. Location amazing, staff so courteous and friendly, food very nice. Couldn't fault it for what we paid. Would return happily if we had the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shall81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

You have perfectly summed up your stay here at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury. My Team l is very pleased with your such positive feedback and a 5 star rating.

Team appreciates the effort and time you took to share your experience with us.
We all look forward to have you back with us again.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013


I stayed two nights in the hotel, and I have no complain about it. The room was nice, clean, breakfast was good. Even it was beside a busy road, heard nothing from the traffic. Very handy location. Very friendly staff.
Good value for the money in Shrewsbury !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnerk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

I am pleased you liked the hotel and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope that you choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having booked, confirmed and reconfirmed a wheelchair accessible room with wet-room (the hotel's fault - they kept "forgetting" to send email confirmations) we arrived to find the single lift broken .. and the only accessible rooms on the first floor (who designs these buildings? fire, anyone? in a wheelchair? really?). The receptionist denied that we had booked an accessible room. Only when I produced a copy of the email confirmation did she relent. Still, with no lift, no accessible room was available - we were issued a standard room at the far end of the hotel. Which gave adequate opportunity to display my wheelchair driving skill as I negotiated cleaner's carts, piles of fresh towels and linen left (on the dirty carpets) outside guest rooms and various other obstacles. My wife had to reposition two heavy bins of dirty towels so that I could get past. While we were out the next day, our belongings were moved to a disabled room on the upper floor. The room turned out to be "well used". Laminated panels around the toilet were split and swelling with absorbed water. The toilet itself leaked (hotel solution? they supplied extra towels to drape around the base of the bowl); the sink drain leaked (hotel solution? they supplied a dirty old champagne bucket to noisily catch the drips); the floor of the wetroom was lifted, split and swelling with water ingress where it met the shower tray. No solution to that one.
In the room, the desk chair was split and coming apart. Pillows - despite carrying tags saying "FIRM" - were actually thin and unsupportive - I had to fold one of mine, doubling its thickness to get anything like enough support at the expense of rolling off it in the night.
Overall, carpets in corridors were stained and grubby and the staff, though friendly, were hardly problem-solvers - mere sympathisers. At breakfast they struggled to keep up with demand - so serving dishes were empty, guests had to clear other people's dirty crockery before they could sit and people went hungry rather than face the mayhem.
These things were brought to the attention of the manager at check out (staff had previously assured us he was informed as each incident occurred). Result? Shrug of the shoulders and a touch more insincere sympathy. He then tried to overcharge us and extra £40 - only when we disputed the amount, pointing out that we'd paid in full when we booked weeks earlier and (again) producing the confirmation I'd insisted on being sent, did he mutter something about "Oh, they put the wrong rate on here (the computer)". No apology.
Finally, the bucket that normally sat on the front desk containing the tokens needed to get out of the car park had disappeared. After spending several minutes searching for it, the manager told us he would lift the barrier remotely. We were very glad to leave.
Overall: Not good enough at all. I know it's a franchised chain but this stay soured my view of Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: All disabled accessible rooms are on the upper floor. When the lift breaks down (as it had before we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

Our Hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

I can confirm that the lift broke down early part of the day when you checked in and the engineer was called urgently as we knew we had booking for guests who had requested wheel chair accessible as there was a mobility Show going on in Shrewsbury. There was a problem with the lift and the parts were ordered straight away as a result the lift was fixed the next day. We do have two accessible rooms downstairs but with baths.

I have spoken to my reception and housekeeping team here and can assure you that this is not our usual standard which you will find out from the comments here from other guests.
Housekeeping team has been informed to make sure the trolleys are cleared from the corridor for the easy access.

As it was brought into our attention about the issues you had with your room about the toilet and the sink and we made sure that was fixed at the earliest. I do apologize that my in house team could not fix it during your stay as it needed Engineering expertise, which was available only the next day in the morning.

I can also notice that after all the issues on the top your check out experience was not great which didn't helpful the overall unsatisfactory stay.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from Holiday Inn Express and also give us a chance again to restore your faith in us.Please email me on samir.sharma@kewgreen.co.uk and i will make sure you have a nice stay next time.

Sincerely,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a modern motel located in a business park close to a major A level road.We were initially put in room 165, the furthest from the entrance and closest to the A road. It was noisy. We asked for another room and were changed to 125. This was quiet and a typical motel room. Odd number rooms above 125 all front the road, whereas the even number ones face inward and would be quieter. There is no restaurant on site and we had to drive several miles for a pub meal. This is unfortunate. There did not seem to be lots of alternatives as to places to stay, so given that reality, this is an ok place to stay if you avoid a noisier rooms and if you have an interest in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's wonderful to know that you had a good with us and on behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your review.

I am glad to know that your room was sorted and you had a good night sleep.We do have casual dining restaurant with limited offering and also we do keep take away menus as well.

Our team will looks forward to your return to our hotel soon.

Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although located in a business park on the outskirts of Shrewsbury, this hotel is suitable for business people or tourists, although public transport is limited. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. There is ample parking and the staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate and there is a good bar in the hotel. We had our evening meal in the hotel which was OK but there is a limited choice of food. We prepaid our accommodation and received excellent value for money.

The staff are the best asset of this hotel and they couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to hear feedback from our guests who stay with us irrespective of the location, as that is one of the major elements that often earns us a favour. However, over shadowing this fact, your stay gave us an opportunity to showcase our team hospitality culture. I am glad to see that we received a 4 star rating; although great we look forward for another opportunity to win that other star on your next stay with us Thanks for your comment about the staffs we do our best to look after our customer.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
651 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
622 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing