We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed on 7/4/2013 and the room was very spacious,clean and comfortable. There were many little extras like hand lotion and tissues and nothing was too much effort,Breakfast which was included was very adequate. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretK671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Shrewsbury strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Shrewsbury has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavor. Thanks again for you comments regarding the extra small bits i.e lotion etc..

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    253
    101
    39
    14
See reviews for
96
304
34
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night only but would definitely go back again. It was clean, the room was spacious, looked and felt like more than 'just' a Holiday Inn. Comfortable bed, great shower and big fluffy bath sheets!
Breakfast was more than adequate, not 'full English' but great choice from cereals through to hot choices. It was plentiful and the waitress worked hard keeping everything topped up. Great coffee machine too with HOT coffee.
As a Priority card holder we received a one use voucher for 25% off drinks which came in useful when friends called to have a drink with us the evening we arrived.
Both check-in and check-out were quick and efficient and we were given an extended check-out, again due to being Priority card holder (they may do it if you're not but I just mentioned this when I asked for a later check-out).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

A great big thank you from the whole team here, for your wonderful comments. The team work very hard to create a positive guest experience and it would appear that you have had one! This means a lot to us and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. Enjoy your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thanks again for your comment regarding the comfortable bed, great shower and big fluffy bath sheets, breakfast and the staffs etc,We do recognize our priority club member with a 25% off food and beverage items as a thank you for their repeated business.

Kind regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed this weekend with my husband and three children and was very pleased with our stay. Had a lovely check in on Sunday, with a friendly helpful receptionist, the rooms were very spacious and very clean. Breakfast was a basic choice but perfectly adequate. The Hotel although located in a business park is a short drive to the fabulous town of Shrewsbury and surrounded by rolling hills. Would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury. I am glad that our location was convenient to you and I am pleased that you were satisfied with our staff and rooms . I will pass on your wonderful comments to my staffs who are always ready to go the extra mile to make sure they deliver 100 % guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your valued custom and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have just spent three days at this hotel, booking was easy, staff were friendly, room was larger than many UK hotels provide and with free wifi, bathroom and shower are of good size, room was clean and the linen of good quality. the hotel is situated about two miles from the town centre in a business park which means it is quiet with no traffic noise. Breakfast is reasonable all the usual cereals fruit etc but do not expect a full English, limited to sausages, scrambled egg and beans. I would recommend this hotel, pity about the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is heartening to read such positive comments for the hard work of our team here at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury. You have truly summed up our hotel and services really well; perhaps much better than we could have.

I am glad we were able to tick all the boxes on your list and were able to make your stay a pleasant one.Sorry to hear about the breakfast but as a limited service hotel we stick to our Express Breakfast standard which is different from a Holiday Inn Hotel (full service) breakfast.

We all look forward to welcome you yet again in not too distant future.

Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a night here for £47. Booking was easy. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Shrewsbury but although distant from the centre it was very quiet at night and the taxis in Shrewsbury are very cheap compared to other places we have stayed. A three-mile ride to the town centre on Saturday night was £4.50 - Bargain! The entrance was clean and bright. It tooka couple of minutes to be welcomed as the receptionist was dealing with a customer on the phone. She was very helpful and welcoming. The room was larger than any similar style hotels we have stayed in recently. It was exceptionally clean, tidy and well-appointed with a very comfy bed and a spacious bathroom. The bathroom had plenty of towels, soap, moisturiser and shampoo in tidy dispensers and great care had been taken to make the whole room presentable. The TV was a good size and there were the usual items such as hairdryer etc.In the morning the breakfast was buffet-style with a good range of choices - toast, cereal, fruit, hot food (sausage, scrambled egg, beans) and drinks. My step-son and his girlfriend stayed in the same hotel and were also suitably impressed. I recommend this hotel and its staff very highly.

Room Tip: We were in room 142 which was a good 2 minute walk from the bar so go for low numbers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinChapple1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Mr Chapple ,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us.

As the Hotel Manager of the hotel, I was delighted to read your comments, and very proud of the team. We pride ourselves on doing everything we can to make our guests feel at home, and this is a great example that I have shared with our staff with my thanks.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Due to a home emergency we needed a place to stay last night and looked online for an inexpensive option. After some net research, booked holiday inn express @ 59 inc. breakfast. We were expecting an unremarkable stay. Room allotted to us was 126,. We were greeted at reception by Aga, a very nice cheerful girl who checked us in without any hassle.When we got to the room it was a wonderful surprise!! Large room, enormous super king bed, spotlessly clean ,tastefully decorated with everything we could ask for. Most thoughtfully provided for with large towels, an absolutely amazing shower, iron with stand, all possible toiletries inc hair conditioner which i had forgotten to bring. I must say its the best shower i have had in a long time even in comparison with pricier hotels. Most importantly for me, hygiene standards were above reproach. It turned out to be an amazingly peaceful and enjoyable stress free night. Breakfast next morning was adequate, with varied options, nothing exciting but cannot fault it. Only criticism is that the room was very cold on arrival and took an hour or two to warm up. Overall a very good stay at an amazing price! I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshiregirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experiences with us.

It was great to read that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly especially Aga, and that you were impressed with the room & breakfast. I have shared your comments with the team with thanks. Positive feedback is vital to our business, and to inform our staff that they continue to do a wonderful job.

We do hope to be able to welcome yourself and your colleagues back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights really clean spacious and we found the bed really comfortable the bathroom spacious and the shower was big . Everything was provided towels shower gel shampoo conditioner. Had an iron ironing board and hairdryer and a freeview tv. The breakfast was basic just sausages scrambled and beans all the cereals fruit and toast and yogurts tea coffee fruit juices but you can go up as many times as you like. If you want to get a taxi into the town it cost us 10 return.there is nothing to the hotel to walk to but we expected it. Staff really friendly nothing wrong with it what so ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasandkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review - I am delighted to read such wonderful comments and glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast at our hotel.

I am happy to read of your comments relating to our staff, I am sure the team will be delighted to read your kind words and i will pass on your comment to them.

If you would like to return soon we would be glad to assist you with a booking, please contact us directly whenever you plan your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing