We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous little cottage in stunning countryside”
other travelers have booked this property
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area
Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
two single electric beds can be clipped together to make superking size. Built-in wardrobe & drawers
downstairs bedroom showing superking bed
wetroom showing shower chair and support rails by toilet (washer/drier behind door in the corner)
cozy log fire for the winter months
single bedroom upstairs with vanity unit
inbuilt storage in downstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom showing beds arranged as two singles
bedroom showing (hired) hoist by single bed raised with bed raisers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JCas20
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous little cottage in stunning countryside”
Reviewed February 4, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a relaxing long weekend away and couldn't fault a thing! The cottage is all newly finished and includes everything you need - we arrived late in the evening, so were very pleased to find fresh milk, teabags etc all provided and some lovely home-baked goodies :)
Also loved the log burning fire which was amazing to cosy up in front of after a long walk out in the country. The countryside is beautiful with plenty of nice walks - we liked talking to the nearby horses and watching the sun set behind the hills which turned the sky lovely colours. We did wonder whether it would be strange that the cottage was fitted for a wheelchair user (we are not disabled) but it didn't make any difference whatsoever. We asked the owner about recommendations for local pubs for dinner on the Saturday night and they were really helpful with giving us a list of places and directions - we went to The Bear Hotel in the village and had a wonderful steak, well worth a visit there as part of your stay. Overall an idyllic stay in an idyllic setting and would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
Thank you, Jonathan, for your very complimentary review. So glad you both enjoyed our lovely countryside too - you were certainly lucky with the weather that weekend. Hope we will see you again sometime for a return visit.
Kind regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in a lovely County”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thought that the Cheeseroom Cottage was very well appointed. Very comfortable friendly owner and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful cottage for a very restful stay within reach of all that Shropshire has to offer. We would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The appointment of the cottage was of very high order
Liked least: A coffee table in the lounge would have been handy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed visiting all the lovely places around here. You are welcome again at any time.
Kindest regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwen P
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very thoughtfully designed and equipped holiday property .”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a privilege to be the first visitors to this delightful cottage. It has been so thoughtfully designed to accommodate a wheelchair user but is also equally suitable for able bodied visitors without being clinical. The kitchen was equipped so well with everything you need if you want to cook and eat in. The bed was luxuriously comfortable and the shower was superb. My husband relies totally on a wheelchair and was able to manage perfectly well in the bathroom with the sturdy wall mounted shower seat and ideally placed hand rails. He also cooked all the meals during our stay and the accessibility in the kitchen was first class. The cottage is tastefully furnished and carefully designed to allow plenty of room for wheelchair manoeuvrability. In fact we could not fault anything in the cottage at all. Outside it was great to have a securely fenced in courtyard so we could let our dog out knowing he could not escape.
The hosts, Karen and John were on hand to answer any queries without being intrusive and the extra little touches such as fresh flowers in the cottage and tea, coffee, milk etc were much appreciated.
Further afield we very much enjoyed a visit to the National Trust Attingham Park which we can recommend for wheelchair accessibility. Electric scooters are available to hire should you require one.
We had a lovely, peaceful and relaxing weekend in this charming little cottage and can't wait to go back for a longer visit later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you, Bronwen, for your very complimentary and indepth review. We hope we will see you again in Shropshire.

Karen and John P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing