We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

went for afternoon tea as we had been told of a spread in a magazine, it was not very welcoming and cold. Afternoon tea was very expensivejust a few cakes which looked as if they were from iceland, one mouthful each and fruit cake had been warmed up and hard. ordered a welsh rarebit also when arrived was cold (maitress said it was bought in and warmed up) they then made a cheese on toast with tomato on top approx ten minutes later. I emailed when arrived homne to be told they had given us an extra coffee free and should have said so when we were there< we didnt want to cause a fuss. Will never return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lavender021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Fishmore Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 904 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed one night in this lovely country setting hotel only mins from Ludlow centre.
Greeted warmly and shown to our lovely room with fanastic country view.
Dinner in the restaurant was so delicous with attentive service.
Breakfast was equally superb.
Would strongly recommend this hotel for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sengloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I recently stayed here on two occasions in October and found the hotel to be a really pleasant experience. I stayed in Room 1 on my first visit, then Room 8 on the most recent one. Both rooms are furnished to a high standard, with large walk-in showers in both rooms. Room 1, which is outside the main building but just yards from the main entrance, is suitable for disabled guests and has a small lounge area as you enter the room. However, this simply has two small armchairs with a table facing a flat screen TV on the opposite wall. It seemed bare and a bit of a waste, surely a comfortable sofa or larger chairs would have been more appropriate. I didn't think this would compromise or hinder any disabled access. Unfortunately, the heating had not been switched on in the room, and it was a cold surprise that awaited me. The hotel wi-fi didn't work for me, and even the provision of a cable failed to get me online. However, once I was in the main hotel lounge I connected straight away. Maybe it was because I was in an external room? I also found the desk far too high and was not suitable for the business guest. However, the bed was large and comfortable. On my second visit, when in Room 8, I had none of these small problems and was able to get some work done!

Now that's the end of the 'bad' news, the excellent part is the hotel food and service. I ate off the 'bar menu' in the brasserie on both occasions and found the food to be of an exceptionally high standard and would surpass the quality often found in top restaurants. No wonder, the main hotel restaurant gets great reviews, if the bar menu is anything to go by!. It's not cheap but you get great, well presented quality food, that was a delight to eat. It was no surprise that breakfasts were equally as good too. Throughout both visits, staff were polite and attentive, and couldn't be faulted at all. Car parking was plentiful although it did suffer from some sort of drainage smell, probably not from the hotel. Just one bit of advice when you arrive - the small reception desk is unmanned but simply pick the phone up and call 0, and a member of staff is with you within seconds.

Anytime I'm on business in the area again, I'll try and stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1961Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We travelled from the Isle of Man by car to stay for 8 nights at the Fishmore Hall Hotel, set in the lovely Shropshire countryside and yet just 5 minutes (by car) from the centre of Ludlow, an absolutely charming market town. The walk from the town to the Hotel is uphill and not an easy one but we found short term parking in Ludlow not too difficult to find and reasonably priced. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms both comfortable and well appointed (except for the absence of an electric razor point and more drawer space plus a few more hangers would have been nice (but you could ask for more of the latter and we managed anyway!). No bath - but roomy walk in shower was great. The Restaurent is really excellent and we believe it is well deserving of an award for the high standard of service and of the 'fine dining' experience. (We ate one night at the top recommended restaurant in Ludlow - La Becasse - which also had excellent cuisine - but certainly no better than the quality and presentation of the gourmet experience at the Fishmore Hotel!) The breakfasts offer a good choice, ranging from Continental of full English and all individually prepared. The Hotel staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly, helpful or professional! It is a good base for touring the County, close to the Welsh and Herefordshire borders and the Ludlow Food centre is just 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stumbled on this place by accident, what a stroke of luck! Arrived early evening, hadn't pre-booked. They gave us lovely room at good rate including dinner. Excellent welcome - had the feeling nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was just one fabulous treat after another - really top-drawer. Have eaten in very expensive famous restaurants and not been nearly so impressed.Don't know anything about the chef, but hope they manage to hang on to him as we'd love to come back sometime. They know how to run a business!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank paulandtrudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have visted Fishmore Hall with a view to having this as our wedding venue. Our first step through the door we both knew we had found a truly special place. We arrived the day before our wedding and we were greeted with very friendly helpful staff. It has a lovely relaxed and sparkley feel to the reception/bar area and our room was immaculate and fresh. We were spoilt for choice with the breakfast menu, a very wide variety to choose from. Our wedding was a very special day and from the start to finish it was amazing. Very friendly but professional were the team. Our wedding breakfast was absolutely delicious and all our guests commented on how fabulous the meal was. We couldnt have chosen better and highly recommend Fishmore to anyone considering getting married there, having their wedding reception there or for a relaxing break in a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyjaneyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Lets start with the good stuff; great staff, easy correspondance, out of this world food which was very fairly priced (we had the midweek dining deal £188 bed , breakfast and evening meal), very helpful as regards our baby; they provided a baby alarm on our table for both nights we stayed and a cot and seemed very unfazed at him being around. A fair sized room - not big but you could move around , and a very large bathroom. Proximety to Ludlow brilliant. Nice modern neutral decor.

ok now to the bits that were a bit dodgy for us some of which could easily be improved others its just bad luck.
1. You approach it through a housing estate - not quite the rural approach we thought - and actually the grounds are pretty small (and not safe for small people)
2. THE DRAINS!! oh god the one man hole closest to the house was vile they need to get their sewers sorted quick
3 My biggest worry - the fire doors. They clearly have a problem with temperature control in the place , it's very hot . The answer to this was to prop open all the firedoors on the second floor . I'm sure some where held on catches linked to the fire alarms but some were definately not and were held on wedges - THE DOORS WERE CLEARLY MARKED FIRE KEEP CLOSED they were not. We repeatedly closed them and they were repeatedly wedged back open. We were very concerned and obviously all fire regulations were being breached.
4 Cleaning - this also needs to be sorted out PDQ. When we arrived there were blown lightbulbs in our bathroom that hadnt been replaced and our bath was filthy with a washcloth still in it. Playing with a toddler you get a different view as well, the pale carpet was getting stained and the valance around the bottom of the bed clearly had not been changed for many months. In the dining room (and in the garden) confettee and feathers were untouched the whole of our stay. Also the pale decor is starting to get chipped and needs touching up now before it gets tatty.
5. BIN MORNING! dont stay in room 3 the day the bins are collected (in the early hours) the noise is horrendous.
6. Lack of soap in the bathrooms. There is no soap in the bathroom (and we were changing nappies) we had to ask for a bar on 3 different occasions - and at one point were directed to the downstairs cloakrooms - just felt a bit cheap.
7. When the hotel is busy the restuarant cant cope at breakfast time - the food is still great but the wait is unacceptable.

In saying all this we loved the place and if they had the same deal on again would have no hesitation in staying here. What we would ask is please sort out the heating / fire doors and deal with the cleaning. Oh and if you could build a swimming pool / spa that would be great tooo!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
788 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing