We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover Shropshire”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Discover Shropshire”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We booked at short notice as we sometimes do. The forecast was good so we googled for a top hotel, restaurant had to get high marks, it had to be dog friendly and not located in a town but near enough to interesting walks, sites, views.

Fishmore Hall ticked all the boxes and goes straight into our top ten. Excellent service, outstanding food, even the sandwiches were state of the art. The location is perfect, a little close to the road but not busy. Near enough to Ludlow without being in the town and close enough to some of the great walks in England. If you have not been to the top of Clee Hill or the Long Mynd you are missing some of the finest views in the country.

The staff were all friendly and keen to help. We ate dinner twice and each time the food was interesting, adventurous and creative with flavours. The menu doesn't change so if you are staying for more than a couple of days there are great restaurants in Ludlow to try as well.

Can't think of any significant negatives. A bit too much beige in the decor for my taste and I would have spent a bit more time and money on the art, some of which is local with price tags. Not sure about that, but as I am in the business I am probably being picky.

We will return, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    205
    72
    27
    17
See reviews for
81
625
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just had two nights here and reviewing because I read them before we booked - share and share alike. Generally a very positive experience.
Nice hotel, very comfortable room, huge bed was actually 2 together but still nice. Big walk in shower, no bath but most importantly apart from annoying bathroom fan very quiet for sleeping, didn't here other guests at all. Gd quality tv with freeview so we could watch leaders debate in comfort and v quick wifi.
We've stayed at several Mr and Mrs Smith Hotels and not in that league but it was fine, and good for the price.
Another huge plus, the breakfast which, ditsy service apart, was up there with the best I've had in UK hotel! Great thick cut toast which was still warm, tasty moroccan mint tea and extremely tasty full english. Coffee with hot milk too - nice detail. Though fruit salad, although pretty, not so impressive.
The only down I'd say was constant quizzing from various staff about dining with them. We did first night but only in "the bar" as we were slow deciding and there was no more room. The pork dish I had was sensational if tiny portion, sticky toffee bit burnt and instantly forgettable. Restaurant not at all atmospheric, all a bit whispery and cutlery clanky but next time we come, and i think we might, we'll go a la carte so we can say "yes we are eating with you tonight"!
Otherwise really enjoyed stay and very good for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The hotel is a little outside Ludlow, a reasonable walk but a short drive from the town centre. The room was large and modern but had some character. We stayed on an offer that made it good value, but full price it was quite expensive. We had dinner one evening which was very good, particularly the apple crumble souffle for pudding!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

As an event manager I stay in many hotels all over the world but Fishmore Hall has got to be one of best that I have ever visited. This visit was for my husband's birthday so for once it was a leisure trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the decor was a lovely mix of modern chic. Our bedroom was huge but the bathroom was exceptional with a massive bath and seperate shower, fluffy towels/bathrobes and Molton Brown. The food was outstanding. We had the Tasting Menu with wines, every course was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. After a brilliant night's sleep we had breakfast in the restaurant which was another gastronomic delight! I would certainly recommend Fishmore Hall

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allotmentgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just came back from a one night stay in Ludlow, very nice hotel. Stayed in a great room, very spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was a comfortable king size bed. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Location - it's ~20 minute easy walk into town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I had an all too brief visit to Fishmore hall, utilising a free voucher from Morethan. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating (excuse pun) as the receptionist dropped us in town in her own car, when taxis were not immediately available. The room was beautiful, with a huge bed and a walk in shower in the en suite, Absolutely excelllent in every way, with fabulous views across Shopshire.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Eynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I spent another happy stay at Fishmore Hall over Valentines Day. The special 7 course taster menu with matching wines was delicious and varied - we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was attentive and helpful but not pushy or overbearing - like in some other hotels we have visited.

Once again we were delighted by the rooms and the simple tasteful modern decor set within a Georgian building.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodlandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing