We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most unusual experience for the UK”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most unusual experience for the UK”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Our stay in this lovely boutique hotel was most memorable.
The location is just outside Ludlow.
Our room was excellent but the best experience was the food.
The evening meals were sublime (well up to Michelin one star standards) and the breakfasts were equally as good.
Everything is with the exception of the fish was sourced locally.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lansburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    210
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
84
629
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed for two nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast rate.
The hotel itself is clean and modern and situated a ten minute walk from the centre of Ludlow. Our room was good and our bathroom was spacious and well equiped.

Our big disappointment was the food. Breakfast was well presented but tasteless.
Dinner was completely pretentious and the whole 'process' took ages too! It would only suit real 'foodies', and we were not impressed. Several guests went to dinner dressed in jeans and tee shirts which really didn't match the grandiose menu, which in turn didn't match a 3* hotel.
We did manage to negotiate a more simple meal for our second evening but felt that the whole dining experience was all about show, and a very expensive 'show' at that.
I couldn't even enjoy a pint of beer on the first evening as the hotel had run out due to a wedding at the weekend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed for one night at this fantastic hotel. Great staff, very friendy and helpful. Room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. We didn't dine at the hotel, but had breakfast the next morning in the sunny breakfast room and really enjoyed the food. Would highly recommend this hotel for couples and singles who want a bit of atmosphere and good service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed on Easter Friday and Easter Saturday, we had secured a Dinner Bed and Breakfast package that appeared at first to give great value for money but after our stay we think we'd picked up a real bargain. The hotel does appear expensive if you look at the rooms and the food menu; drinks I'd say were reasonable and the waiters / receptionists were all attentive, informative but not at all over powering.

We arrived early than anticipated on the Friday and after a quick check our room (6) was ready for us to leave our bags and explore Ludlow. We'd booked dinner for 8 and pre meal dinks at the bar gave us chance to sample some fine canapés, olives and nuts. Dinner was preceded by an amuse bouche and bread and butter which were all delivered with care and attention to detail. The food it's self was delicious cooked to perfection and although small in appearance; satisfying and tasty in delivery. We opted for a mix of Market Menu and A la Carte which gave us everything we wanted. Wine and water were filled a just the right time and there was no hurry nor extended waiting between courses. Even the simple things like background music sounded as if they were off our own personal playlist. The room was very spacious and the bed measured a square 6ft 4 - which we later discovered was two 3 foot mattresses, clean crisp cotton sheets and comfy pillows aided a restful sleep and it was only the chatter of noisy jackdaws outside that woke us from our slumbers. The bathroom had a shower built for 6 and a plentiful supply of moulton brown toiletries and filter coffee for our pre breakfast caffeine fix.
Breakfast was as other reviewers have described was one of the best experienced ,with cereals, dried fruits, seeds and nuts in abundance and what did they marinate those prunes and apricots in - vanilla, cinnamon and ... a mystery. The second evening was equally as lovely with the waiters politely asking about days out and also checking the football scores. Amuse bouches and flavoursome food again were gratefully eaten with nothing but some bones left on either plate. A coffee and brandy were taken in a delightful lounge and a plate of petit fours made us feel guilty with pleasure and contended as we wound our way upstairs.
Our final breakfast was on a sunny Easter Sunday morning and as I was checking the weather to anticipate the day ahead out on the patio; we ended up breakfasting on the patio in lovely sun with an excellent full Shropshire and a delicious eggs benedict. The staff came across as chatty, friendly but professional in their delivery making the stay so relaxing, a most enjoyable 2 days, one of the best UK / World hotels I have stayed in and we are looking forward to our next stay there later this year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie-EarlsdonRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudlay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2009

located a 2 minute drive from Ludlow town. Stayed in room 5. Tastefully decorated in the room and throughout the hotel. Good views of local greenery from the room. Only gripe was that the bathroom door jammed slightly and for the short sighted amongst us the mirror was a little too far from the basin which made shaving a bit of a guessing game! Staff were polite and attentive , Breakfast was lovely. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I stayed here for two nights in March whilst working in the area - and found it a haven at the end of the working day.
The decor throughout the hotel is contemporary with attention to detail - from the polished wooden floor in the reception/bar to the wonderful light fittings that cast beautiful light patterns on the walls and ceilings in the public areas.
My room (No 22) was spacious, clean, and very comfortable - with a nice view over towards Ludlow (approx 1 mile away). The bathroom had a wonderfully deep bath, big separate shower, good quality towels and robes, and Molton Brown toiletries.
The staff were absolutely lovely - with the right mix of attentiveness without being overbearing, and friendliness without being intrusive. They were not highly visible all the time - but by using the telephone in reception they magically appeared.
Then there is the food - which is beautifully cooked and presented. In particular the cauliflower veloute amuse-bouche was fantastic - and the apple and elderflower sorbet consisted of five different mini desserts - all equally delicious! And the Eggs Benedict for breakfast were wonderful! Just one gripe about the food. Foie gras was a component in a number of dishes. As delicious as it can be, ethically it's a no-no and I don't usually eat it - but it was difficult to avoid it within the choices available.
Other plus points - good parking, free wireless internet connection throughout, and near to the pretty town of Ludlow
This is a hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed for one one night at Fishmore Hall. Our stay was most pleasant, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was was superb. The place looks as if it has been recently done up with modern(ish) decor inside a country house setting - sounds awful but works really well. The whole place was spotlessly clean.
Downsides? Its a bit far from the centre of town, not really practical to walk especially at night. Sometimes it was diffiicult to find someone to tend to you at reception.
We'll definitely come back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the Ludlow area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadlettJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing