We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful boutique hotel”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked this hotel through LivingSocial Voucher site and as such we obtained the room for a lower price than normal....however that did nothing to reduce the quality of care and attention which we received - from first arrival the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful - advising us that they had upgraded us from a standard to a superior room at no extra cost, showing us personally to our room, offering to take our luggage, and once in our room showing us where all the facilities were (tea, coffee, mini bar, walk-in wet room ). The size of the room was fantastic, as was the marble tiled wet room. As well as the usual room making in the morning, with the replenishment of supplies, the bed was also "turned down" for us in the evening.
I have read on some reviews that the hotel appeared somewhat dated - this is certainly not what we found, the decor was extremely tasteful with a very peaceful ambience. During the day and evening we chose to walk into Ludlow - an easy and straight walk of about 20 minutes.
Whilst we chose to eat out in the evening and cannot comment on the evening meal, we were provided with a good selection choice for breakfast, and again the service from the staff was exemplary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Fishmore Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 903 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our second visit to Fishmore Hall agin taking advantage of a deal done direct with the hotel. A standard double for two nights B+B with £40.00 food credit. We upgraded to room 24 which faces SE with countryside and Ludlow in the distance. This room has a huge bed, about 7' and comfortable. Every thing is quality although the bathroom could do with a visit from a silicone seal gun in places .( I did mention this last year ).
Breakfast was excellent on the first morning however it seems that there was a gas supply issue on the second . Waited 35 minutes from ordering cooked breakfast ( only 8 in the room ) and during that time nobody came to explain why which I found unusual.
Evening meals, one in restaurant and one in bistro/bistro were to an excellent standard. They should be because the menu , a choice from 4 starters-mains-deserts had barely changed from last November
A hotel which deserves to prosper but I feel it needs to push the chef to extend his repertoire and do a mini-makeover in the bathrooms. Having said that the public areas, especially the toilets, are very well appointed and turned out. If you have a taste card they are happy to accept it but do mention on booking.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As dedicated foodies we thought we would try the gourmet package, staying two nights at the hotel. On the first night we had the 'taste of the marches' menu. the food was good although I think it does need some refinement to take it too the next level. we had one dish on two nights and there was a lack of consistency between the two nights which is something I would not expect. the wine flight was disappointing and did not match on occasions the food. Overall the food is good and if I was a teacher would score it a B+ this is me being picky as I think the chef has potential. the room we stayed in was roomy but lacked the refinement of the food. Within our room there was three different types and makes of switches from plastic to chrome which is not something I would have expected to see in a hotel of this nature. I found the rooms dated and could have done with more cleaning whilst there we pointed out that the curtain was dirty although this was not altered or another room offered. there was also several cobwebs in the room as we had spoken to reception to remedy a few other things we where having complaint fatigue. in the rooms it Is unclear as to whom they see there target customer as the furniture looked as it was from a business hotel rather than a country house I don't think staying in the hotel is worth the money but I would certainly eat in restaurant again. I would strongly recommend the high tea as this was one of the best we have ever eaten and sadly I have eaten a lot of these over the years. my recommendation would be to stay somewhere else but do eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismckenna827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from our third weekend break at fishmore hall. This last visit was an offer from the hotel, 2 nights for the price of one. We arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon and where shown to our room by the receptionist.
We noticed immediately that the decor was looking a little shabby and not to the standard we had experienced on previous visits.
On closer inspection it was obvious the room was in need of a complete update. The carpet was stained, the paint work, window frames and skirting board were chipped and dirty, mold around the base of the shower screen, the throws and cushions were once good quality, but, nothing lasts for ever. The most distastful of all was the black halo of dirty finger marks around the bathroom lightswitch.
The receptionist did show us another room after we expressed our disappointment, but unfortunately that room was no better.
We were offered a free coffee while we decided what to do, stay or go home, our dicision was to stay in the original room.
At no point did a manager speak to us about our concerns, it was a take it or leave it situation.
We do hope the management take a fresh look at the rooms and the decor, as we said before nothing lasts forever.
We must add that the food at fishmore hall is exceptional and that has not changed thank goodness !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank windletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to receive a gift of a two night stay at this hotel. Fortunate because the whole experience was enjoyable and one that we would not hesitate to repeat. The hotel is situated within a circa fifteen minute walk of Ludlow town centre. The building's interior is light and airy and adorned with subtle modern design features.The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and without exception, polite. Our room was clean, functional and nicely appointed with the usual trappings one would expect in an establishment in this price bracket and boasted a superb view over the adjacent countryside.
Dining is via a choice of an a la carte sevice in the conservatory restaurant or from an excellent 'bar' menu in an adjacent and slightly less formal area. A point of note on the latter is that the term 'bar menu' is certainly not in line with the pleasant decor in that area and considering the high standard of the food available. Using the term 'bar' does the area an injustice A rebranding away from the terminology would not go amiss.
The food was of the highest quality and even the obvious backstage problem on our first evening which resulted in a slow table service, did not dampen our enjoyment. Apologies were offered and accepted.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have waited over 4 years to return to Fishmore Hall having previously enjoyed a brilliant New Year break with superb food. We were more than hopeful of a similar quality of stay for my 60th birthday. We were most looking forward to some wonderful food but this was not to be the case.

We were booked to stay for a 2 night break and chose to pay a supplement for The Taster Menu for our first night. We also each elected to pay an additional supplement for a wine to accompany each course, but declined a further supplement for a cheese course.

The concerns started the moment we entered the conservatory restaurant on our first evening. The water in the flower vases on each table was turbid and stale - unforgivable in an establishment of this supposed quality and was a sign of things to come

The service was pleasant and staff were plentiful but the progression of food was painfully slow. We were assured that the head chef was on duty but he was “running slow” - we never found out what the problem actually was, although each of the staff was obviously aware something was amiss.

Portions on the taster menu were ridiculously small - and we have eaten taster menus in some of the best restaurants in the UK and overseas. To appreciate a flavour or taste there has to be enough in your mouth to do so - this was often not the case with the tiny portions presented. Many of the flavour combinations you could taste just did not work.

Service was so slow that for most of the evening the diners were left doing nothing.The ambiance was dreadful - the same loop of world music paying in lounge, dining room for our entire stay. All ceiling spot lights on full during dinner in the restaurant, plus wall lights and table candles.

Water, in jugs or bottles, was not left on the tables. We ordered sparkling mineral water and having each had two half glasses were asked if we would like to buy a second bottle so whether our bottle had been consumed elsewhere, or was an unusually small bottle, we never knew.

Including ourselves there were 7 tables of diners (16 in total) all but one table of four made complaints of different nature during the evening, from chipped glasses, wine not brought through from the bar area, one table was served their amuse-bouche after their soup course, slow service for those only having one or two courses, and we had to ask for bread. It was 45 minutes after being seated that we received the first course of the taster menu and our first small glass of wine from the wine selection.

The low point was a doughnut, straight from the fridge, which was presented on a saucer as our “complementary desert”. No filling, no sauce, just a cold doughnut the size of a scotch egg - mine was not the only one to go straight back.

Several of the courses seemed to be padded out with bread - little fried squares lurking under an unidentifiable sauce.

The small piece of venison was possibly the only course that was cooked to order and was excellent - I suspect everything else was out of the fridge.

One course consisted of two slices of lemon (with rind and pips) with a small square of something suspiciously like a tiny cube of shop-brought Madeira cake and a sauce which was said to be flavoured with fennel - it was not.

The wines were excellent and we cannot fault the French wine waitress who served us professionally and knowledgeably.

The coffee was good both in the evening and at breakfast.

Room comments:

Large bath in the bedroom
Toilet behind a partition - no door
Molton Brown toiletries - but only one very small shampoo, conditioner, body wash for walk in shower and bath - not replenished at turn-down
No water in coffee machine which literature said would be replenished by housekeeping team
Bubble wrap (or similar) under areas of bedroom carpet so walking across room was accompanied by interesting sound effects
Lovely views over two aspects, no blackout curtains so room light very early

I will not comment on breakfast as it was adequate.

We checked out after breakfast having stayed just one night. We have only ever felt it necessary to leave before we planned to in one other hotel in the last 30 years of travelling. We paid our bill (over £300 for one night accommodation, tea and biscuits, no bar drinks, dinner with wine - and breakfast). It was a pity that the manager was not prepared to come out of the office to speak to us before we left.

You may decide if this was good value or not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I have escpaped the kids and stayed at Fishmore 3 years running for our anniversary. We have also enjoyed meals in their restaurant on multiple occasions. Hotel owner Laura and her team never disappoint. Everything about this hotel truly is 5*.

On arrival, you are always greeted in a friendly manner and check-in is smooth as silk. The room we have (Room 1) is always pristine with great decor, high quality furnishings, bathroom fittings and toiletries. It has the added luxury of a small sitting area with a second tv. While we don't use the second tv much, it has come in handy for when I want to watch the football! The bathroom is a wet room and is huge, with a great shower and a separate articulated shaving mirror, which is a nice touch.

Spa treatments are excellent and are given in a hut that is tucked away in the garden, which has wonderful views of the hills. The grounds and windows around the hotel are always clean and immaculate.

The real highlight though, has to be the food. Ludlow sadly seems to be losing some of its high end restaurants. Rest assured though that Fishmore hits the heights and becomes exceptional value if you have a Tastecard. Dave, the chef cooks THE greatest food I have eaten anywhere. Breakfasts are good, but the restaurant evening meals are delectable. Imaginative dishes, fresh ingredients, cooking that displays a huge range of skills with immaculate presentation to match, means that each plate delights your eyes as much as the mouth! The best thing I have EVER eaten anywhere is their Lemon Meringue Pie with Tarragon Ice Cream. A real treat! Waiters and waitresses are always polite, Santa the Latvian waitress and Martin, restaurant manager are knowledgeable about the foods and the wines.

I can not recommend Fishmore highly enough. If there were 6 stars, I'd give it 6 for everything.

Thanks to the Fishmore team for another memorable and relaxing anniversary for us. We will be back!

Room Tip: The wet room in the superior class Room 1 is easily big enough for a party. You have to listen hard...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolarSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing