We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food just not quite up to standard”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We decided to try the six course tasting menu with wines when we arrived. After being rushed a little in the lounge to make our decision (two staff came back three times to take our food order - very pressured), we were then shown to a table in a freezing cold glassed conservatory. All alone amongst a sea of empty tables, we felt absolutely miserable and chilly, so we asked to be moved inside. They then put us in the furthest corner of the room from everyone else, but at least we were warmer, if lacking in any restaurant ambience. Despite being a Friday night, it was three-quarters empty for most of the evening. The service was a particular let down, being delivered invariably by very young, not very professional, wait staff, which really detracted from the experience. In particular, the Sommelier was a huge disappointment, giving us about two sentences about each wine in very broken English, including 'they let the grapes get old' - when talking about ice dessert wine. I would have liked to know a lot more about what the wine should have been doing with the good, given that they were the recommended wines for each course. The food was nice, but went in very strange courses that went back and forth between strong and light flavours (our wine even went white - red - white - red - heavy dessert - light dessert - nonsensical!). The servings were very small, as you'd expect, but the accompanying flavours just weren't dramatic or interesting enough to account for the Michelin-style prices. We had a nice evening, but it just wasn't up to the standard it professes to be.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flossj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 915 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stopped by there today on my 'Gourmet Society' card to have lunch (pre-booked). It was divine. We chose from the lunchtime menu - 2 courses for £20 each. I had the free range breast of chicken, with bacon and cabbage and mushrooms and vegetables. It came out very 'nouvelle cuisine' in terms of portion and plate display, but it was extremely good. I followed it with the dessert raspberry and white chocolate parfait and it was...perfect! The fresh bread and 'salted or unsalted' butter was also very tasty and it is a lovely setting, with very attentive waitresses. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms, but there are 15 in this boutique hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April 2013. a wonderful experience in a pretty much perfect hotel. Can't really find any fault with it at all. The restaurant was closed on the first night we were there so we had to "make do" with the bar menu....absolutely superb food..I think the best fish and chips I've had anywhere...and the cod with crushed potatoes was also lovely according to my companion.

Service was excellent throughout our stay. Staff were courteous and helpful at all times

The room was a standard double on the 2nd floor. Spacious, well appointed and 100% clean with a bath and shower and an enormous bed.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold food.

9 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rivelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I treated my partner to a weekend for his birthday and I could have not chosen better.
The receptionist and restaurant manager are delightful and really helpfull.
The room was big, neutrally decorated so very relaxing atmosphere. The all hotel is really well cleaned, which also made a difference.
Breakfast was really good quality and tasty specially the cooked food.
The restaurant prepare really well presented food but I would say that the best are desserts as the rest although is of good quality, was not perfect for the level of the place.
If you find an offer don't think twice!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just enjoyed a two night stay at Fishmore Hall combining business with a trip to South West Shropshire. Fishmore Hall is a stylishly renovated small hotel, with a relaxing lounge for afternoon tea (which was excellent) and small beauty spa. The young staff and management were charming and helpful.

There are one or two niggles however, The rooms are very well appointed with lovely bathrooms but the bedside lighting is poor, the wall lights are a little high and the LED reading light is incredibly dim. LED has come on a lot since these were installed. The other thing was the choice at dinner. Fishmore's food is very good indeed but with a small menu to choose from I was surprised to find the same menu on offer two nights running, and even identical canapes presented with pre dinner drinks. Perhaps we just hit the chef's night off for the second evening. It was delicious but certainly could annoy a vegetarian who would have an even more limited choice. Breakfast was very good indeed. All in all a good find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonPug2black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overall, the weekend we spent at Fishmore Hall was a pleasent experience, but it was not good value for money. The staff were marvelous, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very average, but clean, comfortable and warm. We ate in the Brasserie on the first night and although we enjoyed the food and wine, the portions were very very small ! The second night we ate in the a la carte restaurant. A very good choice on the menu, and the food was good, but again portions were very small. The worst part about the meal was the wine choice. We had to make 4 choices before we came across one they actually had in stock ! The waitress said "if you choose the house red, we have plenty of that !" Hmmmmm ... not really very impressive ! On both nights they didn't leave the wine on your table, but took it away to a side table, which often happens in restaurants, but the annoying thing was we had to keep asking for a top up as the staff were not attentive enough. Breakfast was included in the price we paid, but again, the "bread basket" portion wise was appauling. We even overheard another guest complaining that this was their 3rd visit to Fishmore Hall and still the breakfast was poor ! The porridge was very good though !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Make no mistake this hotel is of a very good standard. It is immaculately decorated in a contemporary style with lots of nice touches to make you feel very special. The food is of a comparable standard if a touch on the pricey side. On a wet Wednesday in March there were plenty of customers dining in both the bar and restaurant. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plasmadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $138 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing