We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite Enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Quite Enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived on a two night stay with a Living Social Deal but the Hotel could not supply a disabled room with a walk in shower and a Queen/King bed on our anniversary night so they upgraded us at a cost of £70 .00.
The food was presented in an excellent manner, the quality of the food left nothing to be disired,however the quantity of the food was very very disappointing and we were both still hungry after the meals.A miniscule portion of cold meats and cheese was offered at breakfast and when asked for a replenishment the managment said they would rather take it off the menu how pathetic!!! never been told that before and we have both traveled worldly! However Ludlow was a nice town close by to walk around.

Room Tip: Luxury room very nice but if you dont want to pay £70.00 for the upgrade leave this one alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank particular315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    197
    70
    27
    17
See reviews for
80
608
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 days - it was great - accommodation, food, service - all 1st class. Lovely base to visit Ludlow - just a 15 minute walk down the road - and to go on the magnificent walks in in Mortimer Forest . Stunning scenery! We shall revisit very soon. The staff were very welcoming & helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We where fortunate to book this hotel as part as two night B&B deal through Living Social and what a find, arrived on 5/11 and checked in by very polite and cheerful receptionist the deal was for a standard room but we where upgraded no extra charge.
The room was something else, very big and a huge bed the bathroom had a double ended bath and a large walk in shower.
We ate in the resturant on our first night from the Bar Menu which was very good and again the service we got from all the staff was first class. Breakfast, so much to choose and very tasty.
Ludlow itself is worth a visit not very big but has a much to see and is less than a mile away, only took us 15 minutes to walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waitey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked in for one night on our holiday through Ludlow to Wales. This is so much more than a stopover. We were warmly greeted and udgraded to an executive room. Those who run this establishment, and those who work here, take pride in what they do. The standard of service in all areas was wonderful and the finishing touches to all things were noted: the home-made biscuits brought to the room, the Molton Brown toiletries, the smiles from the staff members. The room was comfortable with a lovely view of the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Lovely hotel. Brilliant food. Fantastic staff. We had a very nice room. Not large but quite adequate with very nice shower room. We sampled both the restaurant and the bar food menus and the food was excellent. Must visit again. What more can I say?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I needed a hotel room at short notice, in an area I had not stayed in before so it was a bit of pot luck in chosing Fishmore Hall. Well, I'm glad I did!

What a super find, tucked away on a quiet road near Ludlow. It was dark when I arrived, but the imposing frontage still made me feel welcome, even before setting foot in the door.
My room was finished to a high standard and the huge comfy bed gave me a good night's sleep.
I only had room service in the evening, but that was well presented and tasty. Breakfast was served quickly and the bacon and eggs were hot. No great fuss, just as it should be.

I was sorry to have to leave for my work so quickly, as I would have liked to spend a bit of time relaxing and looking around both the hotel and the countryside outside.

All in, a lovely hotel in an old house with modern twists, attentive friendly staff and great food.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyB203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My sister in law mentioned a lovely hotel they had visited for lunch when they visited Ludlow , The Fishmore Hotel. They had their meal in the restaurant overlooking the fields with the sunshine streaming through the windows, it sounded idyllic . She said that if we ever got the opportunity we should go.
We were amazed when we found a special offer for a two night stay and booked straight away.
Having just recovered from serious illness it was just the treat we both needed, or was it?
Lovely welcome, bright clean room.
We had pre booked a table for dinner on the second night of our stay but also decided to eat in on the first evening , choosing from the 'Bar Menu (see menu on their site). Not the usual type of bar fayre as you can see.
Dressed for dinner and looking forward to enjoying the surroundings of the beautiful restaurant we were amazed to be shown to a table away from other diners in the 'Bistro'. Not another room, just an area sectioned off from the main restaurant but able to be seen through the Rull length glass partition doors. We were on our own with no other diners. Tables were available in main room.
When I queried this I was told that it was to do with regulations for the award of Rosettes. We were not dining from the A la Carte menu. Fair enough,
Little did we know there was more to come.
Friday, I asked if I could chose a meal from the bar menú, but my husband wanted A la Carte for that evenings meal. I was told that it would be possible, but it would be unlikely that we would be able to dine in the main restaurant. Another evening of eating on our own and feeling uncomfortable, not for me. Evening meal cancelled and ate out in Ludlow. On our return at 8ish there were no other diners in the Bistro. Wise decision.
Breakfast; Sunny morning, beautiful views. We were heading to a table in the main restaurant , following other residents only to be told that it was available to those eating in groups of 4, although there were plenty of free tables. We were guided to a table in the same dull 'Bistro' No views, no sunshine , no tablecloths.
What is the excuse for this? Didn't bother to ask.
We chose the hotel to experience the ambiance of the restaurant as recommended.
Would we go back to be treated differently than other paying guests. NO WAY.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 above front entrance of the hotel with a view into the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing