We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, if on a deal.”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice, if on a deal.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in September using a special discount voucher. Our room was at the back of the house (10), overlooking a car park. As others have stated, there is a strong smell from the kitchen if you leave the window open.
We were eating the first evening in the restaurant, so had an aperitif whilst the waitress brought us the menu. I was so disappointed as it was very limited. 4 starters, 4 mains and few desserts.
The mains courses had odd combinations of foods; ie steak with maple syrup, other meats with seafood. And Herefordshire snails???????????? This menu was not inspiring. there was a "taster" menu at £60 a head, but again not inspiring.
I was ready to go hungry as these combinations put me right off, (and I've eaten some strange foods on my travels)when I heard another woman in the lounge say she'd have the sole.... "What?"
Turned out there was a bar menu too, but this wasnt pointed out to us, so when the waitress returned we asked about it. This was eventually brought and our choices made. It was alot cheaper than the fancy menu.
The difference with the bar and main menu was the seating. We had to sit inside rather than in the conservatory part, but that didnt matter anyway.
The food was on slate instead of plates, but was nice;the sole was in batter, and the chips were thick but tasty.
We ordered a bottle of wine, but this wasn't left on the table, it was placed out of our reach so we had to ask for a top up each time. Annoying when the staff werent about, so I got it myself and kept it on the tablehereafter.
No complaints about the breakfasts, filled us up until lunch.
Ludlow is about 20 minutes to walk, but we went by car, no problems parking. Not alot there apart from the odd "craft-type" shop, bookies and charity shops. But the town is known for the castle and medieval/xmas markets mainly. We did find some first rate real ales though in a local pub.
Our second evening meal was in the Unicorn Inn that night, which was plentiful and delicious.
So if you can get a special deal, go for it, otherwise its very pricey to stay and eat;
and ask for the bar menu as well.
To sum up;
Pros, Quiet location.
Clean.
Efficient staff

Cons, Expensive and limited bar. Main menu too odd(ask for the bar menu)
Shower much too big. Space for at least ten people in it!!!! Why?

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back unless you like the smell of cooking. Don't be afraid to ask for the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMeSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    205
    72
    27
    17
See reviews for
81
625
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at Fishmore Hall and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As it was my birthday we had a 3 course a la Carte meal in the restaurant - it was exceptional! The food was scrumptous and the staff exceptionally attentive and professional. The room was large and the en suite shower room was wonderful. We stayed in a superior room (room 5). All in all a great hotel and we wouldn't hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed at fishmore a number of times now and it never fails to disappoint in providing a lovely relaxing break. The bedrooms are clean and have lots of modern touches including lovely Molton brown toiletries. The food in the restaurant is always of a high standard and the tasting menu with wine is reasonably priced. The breakfast is a nice selection and all freshly cooked.

I would definitely recommend coming here if you want to feel relaxed and enjoy superb food and wines.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A recent two-day stay was vey pleasant.

I tend to get a bit nervous about small privately-run hotels, because "quirkiness" isn't amusing to me... I like the shower to work, the food to be OK, the service appropriate. Private places tend to think that personality is a substitute for all of the above - and it ain't. So, the Fishmore had to work had to win me round.

My room was good, spacious, clean. slightly odd layout - with a bath in the room, and no door on the loo... neither of which bothered me, being a solo traveller, but I imagine that couples might find the second (if not the first) feature a bit weird. I dont expect that all tbe rooms were like this, but I worry about signs of quirk!!

The restaurant was good, although I found some of the menu combinations (eg lamb and snails) strange in the extreme. the local cheesboard with homemade biscuits and dried fig cake was - on its own - reason enough to go to the place.... really top, super stuff.

So, nice, small... good but not great value, slightly expensive perhasps... but a pleasant place... recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It would have been excellent but for the slightly pretentious (certainly not friendly) service at breakfast.
Our room was lovely though - tastefully decorated with an excellent bathroom and shower.
The superior Moulton Brown toiletries in the bathroom are always a good sign and the complementary homemade biscuits and fresh milk brought to the room are also a nice touch.
We had a lovely countryside view from our bedroom, despite the awful weather.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - apart from that one waiter at breakfast.
Maybe he was having a "bad day".

Room Tip: We were in room 25 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here on a KGB break,paid rxtra for room upgrade but standard rooms are fine just have a bath. Lovely big beds,lovely wet room, nice touches, fresh milk and handmade biscuits, bathrobes,
Moulton brown toiletries. Ate in restaurant first night, lovely food but limited selection too many things like frogs legs and snails for my liking but wonderful pistachio souffle. Service impeccable.
Outstanding breakfast, fantastic choice inc eggs benedict, best full English we've every had.
Countryside and views are wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms have something bit different but all seemed ok.no 7. Is a good standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggiemo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to have our wedding at Fishmore Hall. The service from day 1 was superb, Kim and her team did everything they could to ensure our day went perfectly.

I could not rate this hotel highly enough, its setting is beautiful, the rooms immaculate, the staff superb and the food served is an absolute must.

If you havent stayed, you will regret not going, this is a jewel.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing