We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful Fishmore experience”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. It's a special place with extra touches that make it a cut above most other hotels. Location & views are lovely. Decor & furnishings very tasteful. Breakfast is amazing - try the Eggs Benedict. Restaurant food is also top class. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 935 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband was due to celebrate his 50th birthday and I wanted to book a memorable few days away for us both. I researched for a long time as we do not normally spend so much on a night away but really wanted it to be special. My final choice was between Fishmore Hall and The Feathers. Hindsight is a great thing and I should have booked The Feathers!

The hotel is clean and tidy, however, it is the small details that they seem to have overlooked. It is very soulless, the room was nothing like the pictures on the website lead to me believe for a Superior room and things like towels washed in so much starch they made your fingers hurt to touch them, two cracked tiles in the bathroom and the toilet tissue being remenistent of school days, are just a few things you would not expect from this sort of establishment.

Went to Ludlow in the evening and ended up in The Feathers for a meal. We should have stayed there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at Fishmore Hall in mid January for two nights as a relaxing break following a very hectic few months. We decided to go for a superior room as they have the benefit of a bath as well as a shower. First impressions were great, the hall has a very attractive exterior and gardens and we received a warm, friendly reception.

Our first room certainly did have the wow factor and the small touches like Molton Brown toiletries and real coffee certainly make a difference. However, the wow factor disappears as you start to look a bit closer at the detail. My background is in construction and I think they have been let down by the trades men they used, as the quality of the workmanship does not live up to the quality of the fixtures and fittings. Unfortunately this takes away from the 5 star feel you get initially. The second problem with our first room was the noise. The room was located above the kitchen and beside the road (the sash window wasn't balanced correctly so there was a gap at the top) so it was very noisy!The next morning we complained about the noise and we were swiftly offered a replacement room. This room was much better in terms of noise but it still had the same issues with the finer details.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and we were amazed with the quality of the food. Some of the best we have ever had! On the second night we treated ourselves to the nine course tasting menu with selected wines and the experience was outstanding. Very memorable. Breakfast on both mornings was also excellent, again probably the best breakfasts we have ever had.

Despite the few issues with the rooms, we still had an excellent and very memorable stay and we would highly recommend Fishmore Hall to anybody looking for a few days away from it all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMightyAForce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Really nice hotel. Will always go back when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here Feb 2012 with the wife. got voucher off travel social.com
Booking in was good and friendly.
Room was a tad small but very clean and tidy.
Restaurant was to a very high standard and very expensive but for a one off you don’t mind treating yourself.
Could not afford eating there the second night so went into Ludlow for a pub meal.
overall a very nice break and i was surprised with Ludlow as its quite a gem. Clime up the church bell tower its fab.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a Living Social deal which gave us both nights with breakfast and credit towards food for a fantastic price. Arrived around 45 minutes before the official check-in time of 3pm but the very friendly and professional staff checked on our room and we were able to go straight in. The hotel is very well presented, wooden floorboards and nice decor all round and is set around 15 minutes walk from Ludlow town centre but in a rural setting.
We had upgraded the room to a 'Superior' and it didn't disappoint. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and separate shower and was almost as big as the bedroom. A very minor niggle was that our room (Room 3) was directly above the kitchen so there was a fair bit of pots and pans clattering in the evening and during the day the radio could occasionally be heard but this was no big deal.

Breakfast was continental or full English (or both if really hungry) and the staff were very happy to let us order 'off menu' with a combination of breakfast items which were of good quality and well cooked. We stayed for dinner in 'Forelles' on the second night, which was lovely but not quite worth the Michelin-star prices that were being charged. I think a price reduction would be helpful here, it's high quality food but just not quite there yet and in future we would go back to Mr Underhills and pay the same price. Sorry but it's just better.

Mention has been made in other reviews that the staff were young and inexperienced. Yes, they were quite young (and no sign of the owner) but without exception they were polite, respectful, helpful and friendly. Whilst we were in the lounge some visitors came in for afternoon tea and they were incredibly rude and bullying towards the girl who tried to serve them. Credit to the waitress, she was very polite and it was a shame that she was treated so badly. Fortunately they left quickly so peace was restored to what was otherwise a fabulous break, in a lovely hotel with staff who really seem to care about their guests.

Room Tip: Room 3 is above the kitchens so there is some noise during the dinner preparations and the bins are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PusscatT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Fishmore Hall is just outside Ludlow (the town is in walking distance in good weather). It is sited in a pleasant location with some nice views.
The welcome we received was impeccable, as was the service throughout our stay.
Our room was, mostly, very pleasant; the shower room was superb.
Though the room was clean and nicely appointed (and had real coffee – hooray!), there were some niggling faults which could have used a bit more attention, for example, the curtains in the room were falling off the rail and the draught around the outside door had to be felt to be believed!
However, we’d really gone for the food – and that was excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
1 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $110 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing