We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub”
Review of Unicorn Inn

Unicorn Inn
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Unicorn Inn is a family run pub which resides in a beautiful riverside location. The pub itself is a grade two listed building with many old features that add to its unique character. From the wooden beams to the uneven floor, from the welcoming and cosy atmosphere to the always helpful and friendly staff. We offer a high quality, freshly cooked, homemade menu with locally sourced ingredients and a selection of award winning local ales. We have three dining areas to choose from that each have their own charm. We also have an outside seating and garden area overlooking the river for those lovely summer days and evenings, and for the winter we have the one thing everybody enjoys two roaring fires.If you have any questions then please email and we will be happy to help.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Unicorn is a really charming building and the inside decor gives it a cosy, warm feeling. The staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the food just doesn't measure up. The sample menus on the the website had led us to believe that it would be pretty good gastro pub fayre but it's pub grub at best. Food is piled high without much finesse and my partner's accompanying veg was a bit grey and looked like it had been microwaved. It was pretty uninspired and basic. It's a shame because it's such a lovely place and has a great atmosphere. So, on the whole just don't expect too much from the kitchen but it is a great place for a drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon g, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Many thanks for your positve comments about the decor and excellent staff at the Unicorn. There are however a number of anomalies in your 'review' which need to be addressed, so that other customers will not be misled.

Firstly, there are no 'sample menus' on our website (which you would know having dined here) the menus are all current and in full.

Secondly, you describe the food as 'piled high' without mentioning what it was you ordered: our food is always well presented in a perfectly normal way, you may like to refer to the photos of our food, posted on this website by actual diners for confirmation of this (below main photo at the top of this page)

Thirdly, the veg 'looked a bit grey' again one wonders precisely what these mystery veg were, again please refer to photo, and why no mention to staff at the time?

Fourthly 'they looked like they had been microwaved' ........by chefs in an open view kitchen, in full view of the public gaze? .......(for the record, the vegetables are freshly cooked to order)

I would suggest that in future if you intend to criticise a meal in any establishment, at least make a note of what it was that you actually ate, and then your comments might be taken more seriously: 'doesn't measure up' is neither useful nor accurate,
Finally, unfortunately your description of the food begs the question " Are you really sure you actually ate here!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 662 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited here on Saturday night on a visit to Ludlow based on recommendations at Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were a group of 5, seated next to the kitchen, so we could see what was going on in there - all seemed calm and efficient which was reassuring! We all ate different things and everyone was very happy with their choices. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were seated at a lovely table in front of the window in the dining area. Excellent selection of starters and mains which were all delicious & well presented. We were well taken care of by Daisy.
Well done !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having read all the reviews I was hoping for better things. Our table was in a very crowded area near a long table of men, one of whom actually leant over my husband to pass his glass to a friend who was going to the bar! The antipasti to share was tasty, however the main meals were a great disappointment. My husband asked for his steak medium rare but what arrived was more rare but not tender - very chewy. My 5 bean chilli was also very mediocre.
The restaurant appeared to be too busy for the staff they had on as our friends had to wait about 15 mins for their second drinks to be brought and when we asked for the bill, we waited a while for it and then no one was around for us to pay. We could easily walked out but instead we left our table and hunted someone down to give them the money! Overall I wasn't impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Judie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Strange how the same evening could be reviewd differently by different people . We visited Saturday night and were seated in a rather souless dining room down a small flight of stairs , the food we ordered was ok , not anything more really , service was a bit slow , had to remind waitress about drinks , had to go in search of someone to request bill , then had to search again to pay .
Wouldn't rush back really .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Priceysixtysixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unicorn Inn also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing