We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, thank Koo!!!”

Koo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant, thank Koo!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a table at Koo after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We hadn't eaten Japanese food before and were really excited to try it and were not disappointed. We were greeted and seated quickly and advised that it would be a set menu, which we didn't mind as this was our first time eating Japanese anyway. Food arrived quickly and was all freshly cooked with great ingredients. All presented beautifully and each course was described in detail to us by the delightful, knowledgeable and friendly waitress. We had four courses with a bottle of wine and Sake and found the bill at the end very reasonable and we would recommend the food, staff and intimate atmosphere here. If we are in the area again, we will go back and try the rest of the menu, yum!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richandlottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    29
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went for the first time Saturday 1st Feb.
Had read positive reviews. It was quiet but the weather was awful.
We all really enjoyed our dinner and are talking about when we should go again.
We recommend it as a different experience in the Welsh Marches

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“sue' s japanese experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

lovely food in a friendly atmosphere with staff who are friendly and professional. also a sheet explaining the food presented and how to eat it for 1st timers

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jondos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh Japanese food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I came across this restaurant whilst on a long weekend in Shropshire and decided to give it a try. We were given a set menu (I don't think there was an a la carte version but the set menu did have some choice). I am vegetarian and whilst there wasn't a veggie option for every course on the menu, it wasn't a problem at all as the chef made me something veggie for each course. Everything we tried was fresh and delicious, from the sushi starter to the unusual but very tasty Japanese desserts. Service wasn't always quick but as we weren't in a hurry this didn't matter, and the staff were friendly and happy to help. Definitely recommend this restaurant - a great find and we'll definitely go back if we find ourselves in the area again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicalkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We tried Koo Japanese Restaurant in Ludlow 18/01/2014. This was my first experience of eating Japanese food and I was very impressed. Being vegetarian, the dishes I chose, were wonderful. A taste explosion. My husband has been to Japan and eaten Japanese food before and was very impressed with the menu and meat dishes he chose. The restaurant is quaint and small and the staff are attentive and well informed. As I do not eat dairy products, I was offered a rice dessert filled with a sweet sesame seed paste, which was cooked fresh and was divine. All the dishes are cooked fresh to order and the presentation is superb. If you want to try Japanese food, then you will not be disappointed in Koo. At L26.95 each for 4 courses, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Koo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing