We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy bar”

Chang Thai Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Newly renovated (2/14) restaurant in a contemporary style with a Thai Street twist, incorporating recycled and upcycled furniture. Serving Thai cuisine made by our dedicated Thai team of chefs. Food also served in the Changthai Bar and Garden. Thai BBQ on Sunday lunch during summer.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy bar”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We didn't dine here over the weekend, but went for a few 'sociable' drinks at the Globe Bar. Very cosy and a lovely place for a relaxed drink or two! A nice outdoor seating area in the rear garden and a sheltered, heated patio for those of you who like to smoke.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    149
    36
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have been to Ludlow on many occasions and have passed this restaurant many times. We called in at the Globe bar which was vibrant. After a drink we went to the Chang Thai next door and was made most welcome. The staff, decor. and music was most authentic. The food was tasty and well presented, the portions were more than adequate and good value. The starter platter for two was a good introduction to what was on offer. The menu choice was substantial. We will definitely be eating there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaffordEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely and authentic.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant little restaurant with attentive staff. Food was nice, presented beautifully! Rice with crab meat was particularly delicious. Comfortable lounge bar next door. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moaningmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After walking round Ludlow looking at the many menus offered by restaurants & bars we luckily agreed on The Globe Thai Bar for our lunch . We checked out the restaurant itself ,the beautiful garden area & patio before deciding on the bar to order our drinks & meals .We were not disappointed in our choice & had a super meal of vegetarian red curry & shared platter of Thai starters .Great tasting food & excellent service from the friendly barman . I highly recommend this hidden gem (down an alley way ) if you are in the area & enjoy good food .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarandspice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh and vibrant food - excellent service too”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here three times now: two late Friday evenings as a couple, looking for a relaxing meal after a journey to Ludlow, and now as Saturday evening "on the town" with friends in a party.

The food is fresh, colorful and really excellent. The speed that so many dish's can come as part of set menus, while still being to fresh and vibrant is astonishing tbh.

The most recent visit involved a table full of different tai dishes and the colour and flavour was superb.

(always have coconut rice... It's very good indeed)

Thank you Chang Tai. Excellent service, always a pleasure to eat in your restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBAYLESBURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chang Thai Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Chang Thai Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing