We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch restaurant in Ludlow”
Review of Bistro 7 of Ludlow

Bistro 7 of Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern British bistro family run with Mediterranean influences all dishes made in house local game, daily fresh fish, desserts and fresh breads. Friendly welcome. Fine wines local gins.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This year I went together with my son and two of my brothers to Ludlow for the Food Festival. It was far from easy to stay hungry for our much anticipated late dinner at Bistro 7 after having roamed this amazing food event all day, however, luckily we all just managed that! For starters we had the British anti pasti meats, the twice baked cheese soufflé (me), the stilton and walnut pate and the chicken liver and brandy pate. For mains we had the guinea fowl, two rib eye steaks and the rack of lamb (me), with a rich Château des Cres Ricards Les Terrasses du Larzac Oenothera to accompany it. All of us then finished off with the sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce and vanilla ice. The soufflé was wonderful and the lamb was probably the most tender I have ever had. The rest of my dining company also had very high opinions of their choices. This place certainly earns its spot at the top among Ludlow restaurants!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank asamarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For the top rated restaurant in a town with such an exceptional reputation for food, we were very disappointed. In fairness, there was nothing specifically wrong with the food - tasty meat and cooked well. But for (near enough) £20 a main course it has to be something more than that. There was just no spark. Was expecting this to provide a special meal for a birthday but in reality it was bang average. The restaurant was full on a mid-September Wednesday night, so they are obviously doing something right and appreciate the demographic they are aiming for - over 60’s, which was very telling in the food. Just not for us.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank E9409ZKjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Ludlow restaurants keep performing. Bustling bistro, young, friendly and capable staff, with excellent bistro food. Nothing to fault. Fair prices. The basis of a great evening.

Try the tiramisu. Not conventional, but outstanding.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

In Ludlow for three nights attending Food Festival weekend and Bistro 7 was our first dining experience here, what a gem. The restaurant was full and buzzy, always a great sign. The menu selection had something for everyone, even a fussy eater. Between us for starters we sampled the fish plate, stilton cream cheese and walnut pate, grilled fan avocado, for mains it was venison and pork with fresh veg, all cooked perfectly and totally delicious. What also impressed us was the attention to detail that restaurants often get wrong, a simple fresh bread basket with butter at room temperature, and a cheeseboard with excellent cheeses again at the right temperature. Service was very friendly and efficient, the perfect evening to kick off our food weekend - 10/10 from us!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CeliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

We were seated at a lovely table and were given exceptional customer service. The food was faultless and we thoroughly enjoyed our time.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 54chelseyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 7 of Ludlow also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Bistro 7 of Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing