We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
trowbridge, wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unusual place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our room was in the converted coach house so having your own front door meant we had privacy and could come and go as we pleased. Our room was spacious, clean and nicely furnished. Lots of extras like a fridge, bottles of water and toiletries. Breakfast is served in the main house which was a delight. Plenty of choice and of a good standard all served by the very friendly and helpful owners.
The golf course is a bonus, fun and relaxed, nothing too serious.
This hotel is ideal for exploring Ludlow and the surrounding area

Room Tip: Rooms in the coach house all over look the fairway, the grounds are well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickiTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    43
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
139
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September and had a lovely time. We stayed in Fairway 1 which was spacious and had a huge bed.
Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before which isn't an issue and was fairly tasty. On both evenings we walked into Ludlow for dinner. If you do intend on walking make sure you take a torch for the walk back as it does get very dark.
The only criticism was that the walls are quite thin so you can hear talking and banging coming from the rooms next door which was a little annoying.
All in all, it was a lovely break and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sway5579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Four of us stayed in two rooms ovelooking the golf course( Rooms Fairway 1 and Fairway 2) for two nights on the 9th and 10th Oct.The rooms were large, airy,very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean with lovely views. The complimentary bowl of fruit together with bottles of water were lovely touches and much appreciated.Nicola, who showed us to our rooms, was extremely helpful and the hosts, Steven and Barbara were exceptional. They really did seem to take a great deal of pride in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent . We thought the value was outstanding and would not consider staying anywhere else when returning to Ludlow

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredrae1646049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Two nights spent in room 2 with Partner.Sunday and Monday night.
Easy to find and park trouble free check in with the very friendly owner Steven.
Our room was large and well furnished , everything we needed for a short break.
The TV was very small for the size of the room and placed on a very low cabinet so difficult to see from the very large comfy bed.
The towels could of done with some fabric softner as were rock hard!
Breakfast was pre orderd and ticked all the boxes. However a bit too much chat from the owners during breakfast . We would of liked more time alone to allow us to eat.
On our second night we were woken by noise from the room next door , this spoilt our nights sleep.
We tried out the par 3, 9 hole golf course which was pretty.
On our first night on the owners recommendaton ate at the Unicorn , this is just average but with over inflated prices.Would not recommend.Warning if you walk and return in the dark the long drive in unlit and a difficult walk.
Ludlow is lovely and well worth a visit. We would not hesitate to recommend Elm Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank location125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay here despite my husband having a very high temperature which broke in the middle of the night. The room was reached via some outdoor wooden stairs (Fairway 1) and was very large and pleasant, with a view of the golf course and high beamed ceilings. The facilities were good, a small TV, kettle, fridge and lots of tea and coffee supplied. There was a fruit bowl filled with nice fruit too.

The bed was massive and very very comfortable.

The shower room was warm and pleasant and the shower worked well.

Breakfast was great - we had fish and porridge - no trouble was too great for the cook! Very nice porridge - and supplied with small bowls of seeds and fruit - very nice touch.

Tea was lovely.

The owners are very friendly without being in your face - genuinely nice people.

We shall certainly be going back - for the price this was a great place to stay -

There is plenty of parking, you are not far from the town and several eateries though I think you need a car to stay here and get about really (you could walk but its a fair way).

Ludlow is lovely - the local area is great - I cannot recommend this more highly.

Room Tip: They also have small apartments and I would consider this for a short break with my family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmidlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped in fairway 2 over looking the first tee of the golf course, the room was very spacious, pleasantly furnished. There was a nice touch with fresh fruit and water waiting for us. The breakfast was served in a beautiful room in the house with a wonderful variety of choice. Barbara the host was very friendly and very informative about the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first stay at the Elm Lodge and we will going back again. We were met with a very warm welcome, and found in our room waiting for us a fresh bowl of fruit and two bottles of water along with tea and coffee. The breakfast on both mornings was the best we have tasted.
A great stay, great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.1 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Lodge

Property: Elm Lodge
Address: Fishmore, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Georgian property, offering self-catering and bed & breakfast accommodation on the outskirts of Ludlow, Shropshire. Simply sit back and enjoy the magnificent views over to Ludlow and hills of the Welsh Borders. We are offering Afternoon Country Teas to residents available by request and booked in advance. Now available weekdays only from 2.30 - 4.30 in the Dining Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing