We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation
Ranked #38 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for three nights for a cycling break. Joe was very welcoming and helpful during the stay. The single rooms were clean, warm and comfortable (at the back of the building overlooking garden). We were allowed to store our bikes securely on the premises and Joe offered to dry our stuff if we got wet (thankfully we had good weather). The walk into town takes about 15 to 20 minutes which was fine. Breakfast not available on site. Avoid breakfast at Sam's on the industrial estate. Found a good cafe for breakfast about a mile away - Cafe V on New Road. Free car parking on the front of the premises.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, we're pleased the weather held off for your visit. Our service is ‘Room Only’ however, we’re always happy to provide assistance, where possible. There are many fantastic eateries in & around Ludlow (research prior to visit recommended). Please rest assured that front rooms are perfectly acceptable – we can only assume your room tip is with Sheet Road in mind; Sheet Rd is not busy during service hours, comparable to town centre & other areas of Ludlow. Potential guests should be aware of our location but by no means concerned. Studio Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Ludlow in a pleasant & generally quiet area, set back on Sheet Rd with private parking to front. Full details including location map can be found on our website. Best regards, Sophie & Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Studio Lodge for a wedding in Ludlow. When I made the booking, Sophie returned my call promptly. When we arrived, Joe greeted us warmly and was welcoming and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to friends or family. Superb breakfast at nearby Ludlow Food Centre or plenty of other places in town - the room only booking was entirely convenient in such an amazing area for fantastic meal choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingguest_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your feedback & are pleased that you found our service convenient. We are always happy to help & hope to meet you again in the future - take care, Sophie & Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

10 of us stayed in the Studio Lodge over the Food Festival weekend. The accommodation is clean & perfectly serviceable, and the owners are obviously still upgrading the facilities. Joe was very welcoming on check in and advised us to let him know if there were any problems during our stay. It could obviously benefit from some bathroom upgrades but everything worked and the bed was comfortable & the breakfast at Sams Cafe (recommended by Joe) excellent value & very much enjoyed by all. Its a good way of providing affordable accommodation by providing room only and Im sure once its been fully renovated will be a thriving business. The walk into town is fine - only about 15-20 minutes and not strenuous.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The property has undergone considerable improvement since we purchased 9 months ago & as per website, this is set to continue. Upgrades to en-suites begin next month. Fortunately, it will not be necessary to close for this work as we have ensured that all present facilities are fully serviceable. We have received compliments from long existing & new guests alike on progress / refurbishment & business is thriving. Sheet Rd is usually quiet during our service hours & has not generated any cause for complaint. We appreciate that our efforts to upgrade facilities are being recognised. Best regards, Joe & Sophie (Owners).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I highly recommend this, beautiful and clean Guest House....I found my room comfortable, and the price affordable and reasonable. The staff there are wonderful and very helpful. A special thank you to Joe for his help! I shall be back! (^^,)

Pagan Lady from Sutton Coldfield

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Lovely to hear from you - thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback & hope to see you again! Best Wishes, Joe & Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stopped here with my girlfriend for 3 nights, every nigseein day we saw Joseph (manager, I think) and we never saw him without a smile on his face, he's always happy to help, whatever your looking for.
It's not too far away from Ludlow Town, also close to local newsagents and shops if your looking for snacks or a paper.
Overall, the stay was brilliant. Definitely contemplating to come back quite soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bannie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write a review - your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to meet with you again in the future! Best Wishes, Joe & Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Room was clean ,comfortable and quiet. Really good value being so close to Ludlow old
town, a normally very expensive area to stay in. Only a few minutes walk away.
Proprietor is particularly helpful and keen to please.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again - Best regards, Joe & Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in Jan 2012. It cost £35 for room only as I requested a bathroom and 2 get that I had 2 pay for a twin room! It isnt within walking distance of Ludlow town (25minutes) unless you really like walking! The room was dated but had tea making facilities so that was a plus. The tv made a terrible high pitched noise so you couldnt watch it. There was a hair in the bed and 2 in the bath, none were mine! The heating in the room never came on higher luke warm so I was freezing all nite, I thought the morning would never come, I had a lousy sleep! When I went to check out mentioned the heating problem and he just said he would get the plummer to look at it, no use to me! I was annoyed, didnt bother saying anything about the other problems, just gave in the key and left. Not what I want from a guest house- how about you?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malibujane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL_GA_11, Owner at Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we are disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to address the resolvable issues that you have raised publically at the time of your stay.
Full details, including room type, options, facilities and rates are clearly stated on our website. Pricing was also explained via phone, before the reservation was accepted - you did not pay for a twin room, in fact a discretionary discount was applied to your reservation for single occupancy in a twin en-suite room (applied at our discretion, only when possible).
Prospective guests are more than welcome to view the rooms prior to booking without obligation and we would have happily arranged this for you.
Ludlow town centre is within walking distance (1 mile), a location map is available to view online via our website – walking time of ‘approx. 15-20 min’ is a guide and is stated approximate.
The property has undergone considerable refurbishment since we purchased in Jul ’11 and we have had many satisfied guests. As per our website, upgrades are to continue throughout 2012/13. All TV’s have recently been upgraded, however, on rare occasions, problems do arise with electrical equipment and I am sorry this affected you - We would have happily swapped the TV without delay and with minimal disruption if we had been informed. We certainly don’t expect our guest’s to cope with anything they deem to be unsatisfactory and for this reason, an intercom is located by the front entrance and contact info can be found in all rooms.
We make housekeeping duties one of our top priorities and are shocked and very sorry to hear of your findings. Again, we would have appreciated the chance to address this immediately. Joseph thanked you for informing us of room temperature and apologised - he looked into the matter immediately by asking guests in neighbouring rooms if they had experienced the same, which they hadn’t. I can confirm that there was no problem with our heating and this could have been resolved in a matter of minutes if only you had contacted us at the time. There are 2 dials on the radiator and on inspection, 1 was turned down – guests are free to set the temperature as they please and We would have been more than happy to assist you. We note however, that your additional blankets which can be found in all rooms (wardrobe), were un-used.
It is very rare that multiple issues arise and we are sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to address any of the problems you have mentioned. I can assure you that if we had been informed of any problem at the time of your stay, we would have been able to resolve in a friendly, prompt and professional manner under our complaints policy within minutes in your particular case.
You needn't have had a “lousy sleep” as these issues could (and should) have been brought to our attention at the time of your stay and resolved immediately with an offer of a discount for any inconvenience &/or room change as per our complaints procedure (Terms & Conditions). Unfortunately, as this was not the case, at this point, all I can offer is my sincere apologies.
We want our guest’s to enjoy their stay and we are always happy to help when given the opportunity, day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.1 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.8 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
The Clive
The Clive
#1 of 1 in Bromfield
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Timberstone Bed and Breakfast
Timberstone Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Clee Stanton
132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
867 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation

Property: Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation
Address: Sheet Road, Ludlow SY8 1LR, England (Formerly Cecil Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Studio Lodge Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you at Studio Lodge. Located within 1 mile of Ludlow Castle/town centre & close walking distance of many local amenities, Studio Lodge offers clean, comfortable 'Room only' accommodation with tea & coffee making facilities/stock all year round at reasonable rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing