We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absoloutly awesome if you like being punched!”
Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull Hotel
Ranked #45 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2013

visited the bull hotel and it was like walking into a film where everyone stops and stares at you
only popped in for a quick beer in the afternoon as i had never been here before and there were people in the courtyard shouting at each other. i noticed a bag of white powder on the floor and told the owners about it and they turned a blind eye and this was at 4 in the afternoon so its not like it was a friday night but still! i got told it was a nice relaxing atmosphere!

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a weekend visit to Ludlow, at £70 per night. On arrival we were shown to our en-suite room which was basic but clean and well presented. It had tea making facilities, TV and a bath/shower and overlooked the car parking/smoking area. The room did have a strange odour of nicotine that may have been either from the cigarette smoke from down below or maybe it used to be a smoking room.
Previous reviews are correct regarding the teenagers in the pub, on the friday evening we spent the first part of the night in a few of the other pubs in Ludlow and also ate in The Golden Moments indian restaurant (which was very nice food). We reteurned to The Bull at about 9.30 and decided to finish the evening with a couple of drinks before going up to the room.
The place seemed to suddenly fill up with quite a few young lads (and a few girls) who were borderline underage and very 'tipsy'. Two of the boys decided it would be fun to have a play fight and started jumping about wrestling each other, then almost sent a table full of beer filled glasses over. This went on for a few minutes until the landlady suddenly appeared from behind the bar which seemed to stun all the teenagers into dead silence, which reminded me of a bunch of rowdy schoolchildren when the headmistress walks into the classroom.
When we returned to our room we didnt hear any fighting outside like other reviewers but you can hear the thump from the juke box music, although it didnt keep us awake.
I enjoyed the breakfast which was a full english fry up (Fried Egg, Bacon, 2 (real) Sausages, mushrooms, beans and fresh tomato's), tea or coffee plus help yourself to toast, cereals and orange juice.
The following evening we found a really nice little restaurant called The Parkway which i would definately recommend, and was a little reluctant to return to the Bull, but in the end decided to 'risk it' and found it had a live band playing and was full of older punters. The landlady was clearly preventing any of the youngsters from entering the pub as she stood by the door like a bouncer. The evening was much more enjoyable and went off without any trouble.
I have to say if we returned to Ludlow we would not book here again unless the pub can sort out the problems with the underage revellers, but even then i think we would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was Thursday the 10th October and our first time ever to visit Ludlow, there was a sudden change in the weather and it was bitter cold. Was looking for somewhere to eat and decided on the Bull Hotel, so glad we did, there was a lovely log fire burning - very welcoming indeed. The staff were also very welcoming and polite. For the meal, my husband had the steak and I had the lamb, we were a little apprehensive as to what the food might be like as so often what you're served has no resemblance to what's described on the menu. We needn't have worried though as both meals were absolutely superb - you could not fault anything! If we find ourselves in that neck of the woods again we shall certainly dine in the Bull - wouldn't even consider trying anywhere else. Compliments to the chef for a beautiful meal!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelldrake105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Popped into the Bull for lunch as from the outside looks great and is one of the oldest in the Town in fact we nearly stayed here (but for the reviews - thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for saving us. The place was grubby and unkept the small menu gave a selection of light bites and mains all reasonably priced and the beer was great but that is where it ends really I asked the barman if I could have a cheese and onion sandwich on brown bread only to be told that if it was not a sandwich on the menu then it was not available and he dare not ask the chef as he is also apparently the owner and 'he gets very funny if you ask him for something not on the menu'. I settled for a ham which came on white bread despite my request (dare not ask for a few chips. The wife had roasted vegetables on a Panini which was more of a burger bun but at least she got the vegetables (which is more than could be said for the party of four at the next table whose meal was served without the menu stated accompaniment). Think this place is due a visit from turnaround expert Gordon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank eyespie2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with two old friends and booked the family room to save money. I made a last minute decision to travel by train having read some reviews on the car park. Glad I did. My friends were not so fortunate - they arrived by Car and Motorbike. Read on.
On arrival we were shown to our room in which the third bed was a sofa bed but had been provided without sheets and the person showing the room did not know how to operate it. They said somebody would come up and make the bed shortly. This was 1:30pm. The bedding was not actually provided until sometime after 8 that evening despite two reminders.
The room was however clean.
Around 5:30 pm my friends were also asked to remove their vehicles from the car park because a band was playing there that night. Unfortunately, my friends had been drinking and did not wish to break the law. After some discussion they were allowed to leave their vehicles as parked because the band was now going to be playing indoors! It is crazy to advertise residents parking and then withdraw it after you have booked in.
At about 7:30 we decided to go out for a bite to eat. We returned to the Inn at around 11:00. It was very noisy - as expected - but there was also a number of very drunk teenagers - which was a bit unsavory. We had a drink in the bar because there was no point going to bed due to the noise. However by midnight we had had enough so retired upstairs. Unfortunately the music and noise did not die down until about 2:30 Sunday morning.
We arrived for breakfast the next morning to find that they had set our table for two rather than three but this was resolved quite quickly. There was plently of choice for breakfast including a full English, cereals etc. The staff were happy to cater to my vegetarian requirements.
We spent a pleasant day around Ludlow and returned to the hotel about 9:00pm.
I was quite surprised that it seemed even more lively than Saturday night. We decided to go to our room - which overlooked the car park. At about 10:00pm a fight broke out in the car park between drunken teenage girls, with the boys egging them on. Glasses were smashed - lots of shouting. This went on for at least 30 minutes with no staff in site. After more glasses were smashed the landlord arrived but did very little. He carried on serving these drunk kids and seemed more concerned about the glasses - even though there was a lot of agression / shouting and swearing. About 30 minutes later the fighting started again and this time the landlord insisted the drunks went indoors and carried on serving them - amazing.
When at closing time most people went home, we had to suffer to listen to two drunken lads shouting in the car park until well after 1pm - with no staff in site.
The next day after a good breakfast we left to find broken glass all round our vehicles - which we had to clear ourselves before we left. Luckily there was no actual damage.
I don't mind a bit of noise and like a drink myself but I expect a landlord to keep order - this did not happen. I expect him to make sure everything quietens down at closing time and this did not happen either. It is even more important when you have paying guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bull for Ludlow food festival. Our room was exactly as pictured on the website; really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely; choice of 3 cereal, Full English; bacon, sausage, tomato, mushrooms, egg,beans and as much toast as you like; fruit juice and a pot of tea of coffee.
The website also advertises that the venue is an inn in the middle of Ludlow that provides live entertainment, so yes there was music personally I enjoyed it, and I can't understand why people expect a thriving town pub to be quiet, it surely wouldn't be a sign of a health establishment if it was.
We will be returning for next years food festival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Planned a weekends stay here, Friday-Sunday,with my partner. Ludlow is a beautiful place with the main attraction being the Wonderful Castle but it also has lovely shops and the most fabulous market. We go away a lot of weekends during the year and have stayed in a variety of places none quite prepared us for this! We arrived at the Bull to be greeted by a bunch of rowdy men and women seated in the courtyard around 2;30 pm, mostly worse for wear!!! Weekend enthusiasm, just enjoying themselves, no harm to be done, so we thought! We were taken to what was a pleasant room, clean and fairly modern, the entrance was dusty but it's an old building we accepted that but the view we had was........ of the courtyard!!!!!
As the day progressed we witnessed, Vomiting(mainly self-induced to continue drinking) by both sexes, arguing, smashing of glasses, we went into the town for a drink, had a lovely evening with the locals, a pub called the Rose and Crown, on our return to The Bull, to round the evening off, a brawl, two to be accurate.
A complaint to the management was greeted with 'I didn't see anything' this as she served one of the men with another drink whilst two other vulgar men leered at me over the bar! We had breakfast the following morning, the choice was a Full English or you could make yourself toast with the toaster provided, think that was the vegetarian option!
Saturday nights entertanment, Country Music and fighting!...........No Thanks
Check-in 2.30pm Friday Check-out 10am Saturday
Absolutley AWFUL!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank 1NaughtyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#15 of 48 in Ludlow
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: 14 Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: $66 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing