We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location but lacks the basics”
Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull Hotel
Ranked #45 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night during Ludlow Artfest. We stayed in room 4 which we were told by the member of staff who showed us to our room was the best. Although the room looked pleasant enough it had a really strange unpleasant smell as if a cleaning product was trying to cover an underlying smell. I am really not a fussy person but the en-suite toilet hadn't been cleaned properly and there was hair on the floor between the bath and the toilet ( I honestly don't go looking for these things)
We returned from seeing a show at about 1115 pm and there was a fringe gig being held at the side of the hotel, it sounded really good and as it was obvious we wouldn't get to sleep, as it was directly below our room we decided to have a drink in the bar,we waited for ages while the staff served people all around us who we're obviously regulars, we eventually just gave up, we didn't expect special treatment just to be served in turn.
The breakfast was fine, but again the room wasn't very clean, dusty and cobwebby and the teaspoon on the table with my cutlery was dirty.
Such a shame because The Bull in in a fab location and with a decent clean and better customer care has real potential ,as it is we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villaval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had two nights here in this very centrally located pub. The pub is noisy both during the day and at night till midnight when the music stops but don't stay here if loud music is not your scene. The room was newly decorated and adequate but the bathroom bin had not been emptied when I arrived. Breakfast was delicious and very adequate with great orange juice. Car parking is under a marquee right in the pub courtyard but it is also where smokers gather and again this noise can be heard in the bedrooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MhairiPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a lunchtime meal from the £5.95 menu and didn't expect too much but it was extremely good value for money. Would definitely visit again and recommend to others. Only negative point was the smell of ?bleach. A bit off putting. Suggest some pot pourri and tone the bleach down, otherwise very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorrieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lively pub in the centre of Ludlow. Lovely family room. Very comfy bed. Loads of space. Good tv and tea and coffee. Excellent breakfast using local sausages . Friendly welcome. Parking right outside. Was perfect for our trip to the Spring Festival.

Room Tip: Ignore the swimming pool and children's activities rating. Ticked in error and could not Chang i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeJBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good points: Free On-site parking (always a plus is the centre of any old town). Good breakfast. Nice, pleasant & helpful staff (Big plus this: Thank you all). Good central locationNot expensive, but not cheap either (for the standard of the room)

Bad points: The Bull is a lively town centre pub with a big courtyard & marquee right under the windows of the B&B rooms. This means that it is very noisy until late at night, even midweek. If you care about your car, you might not want to leave it parked in amongst the revellers! Rooms are basic with dated decor, and the whole place was dirty (coffee/tea stains & splashes on doors & walls, cobwebs, dust & ingrrined dirt on most surfaces, cups & glassed in rooms not clean, toast crumbs from previous day in butter dish, chipped cups, jugs, plates etc). I'm not too fussy about this sort of thing, but this isn't really up to today's standards, even at the lower end of the market. It's a shame, because all the period features are there, and it could be a place of great character & appeal.

Room Tip: Ask about noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location is the great positive here, right in the heart of the town. Benefits from it's own parking under a marquee.
Room though basic,was recently decorated and was lovely and warm. Had a sofa, flat screen TV and tea/ coffee making facilities. Bathroom was dated ( peachy pink) though it did have a new shower unit over the bath. Take your own toiletries though as there was only 2 bars of used soap.
Rooms are above the bar, so expect noise while pub is open, then it goes quiet.
Cooked breakfast was a disappointment, it appeared to be oily( bacon,sausage,tomato and mushrooms possibly pre cooked and then re fried?) Couldn't eat it. May have been better to ask guests what time they would require breakfast so that it could be fresh cooked. Toast was ok as you could help yourself. Milk jug in the shape of a chicken was cute but unfortunately the pouring head of the chicken had been decapitated and glued back on showing the cracks.
Think the accomodation is work in progress and am sure as it becomes more popular, it will go from strength to strength. At the moment it seems a little over priced, but give it a go as the building is very old and full of character. In the pub, there was a good selection of beers and a roaring log fire.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

not a good start as had to park under a marquee, that they use for the smokers ?,
staff not overly friendly or helpful, room was ok, but above bar so noisy,
not offered any food or a menu to view, i think they did food, but no sign of it while we stayed there,
not unpleasant, but would not return,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#17 of 48 in Ludlow
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#6 of 48 in Ludlow
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: 14 Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing