We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice peaceful location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Nice 10 minute walk into Ludlow over the river. Room clean and plenty of space. Only gripe was there was no where to put shampoo etc in shower cubicle except the floor. Very freindly staff and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaE193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Hope you'll return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 489 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this hotel for a 2 night stay in October after reading previous reviews, we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable with an ensuite also a wonderful view of Ludlow Castle. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfasts were just right and the evening meal, which we ate in the very friendly bar, was very good. The added bonus to this was that the hotel is in a perfect position for a 10 minute walk into the centre of Ludlow, the walk is down a lane and over one of the wonderful bridges - what more could you want.

All in all a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

It was great to read your positive review and I was pleased the hotel came up to your expectations. Perhaps you'll come and stay with us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is an excellent hotel the rooms are absolutely great they have been excellently furnished to a high standard, if you want to stay in Ludlow STAY HERE because it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetraveller9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Most kind...thank you. I'm pleased you thought your stay was good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in October 2012 and found it an excellent base for walking into Ludlow and visiting the surrounding area.Our room on the second floor was a good size with ensuite shower over the bath.The evening we ate at the hotel the food was ample and tasted excellent and the breakfasts were also of good quality. The staff and Helen, the owner, were very friendly and helpful.All in all, good value for money and ideally located for walking into Ludlow. A torch is recommended if walking back from Ludlow after dark, although I'm sure the hotel would provide one as they seem to think of pretty much everything! Well recommended.Will hopefully return soon.

Room Tip: The second floor where we stayed is good. Not a noisy hotel, though, so sure any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We were pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay at the hotel and hope you will come and stay again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose this hotel based on previous recommendations and the fact it had parking. Go for one of the larger rooms. If walking back from Ludlow on an evening, pack a torch as street lighting is poor and there are small stretches of country lane to be negotiated.
Ate in at the hotel one night - food very good and extremely reasonable with choice of bar or restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Your positive comments were much appreciated. I have torches if you forget!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had so much fun here--Helen is just delightful and her mother and her mother's friend are just precious! The room was clean and comfortable and the food was really good in the bar. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhody66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

You are too kind! It was great meeting you both. Hope you enjoy your travels in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one night with 3 friends on our way to a driving holiday in Wales. Weather absolutely terrible, which was a real shame.

It's not boutique chic at all - decor is very traditional (dare I say "old fashioned?") but very clean.and after all, it comes down to personal taste. Rooms plain with somewhat dated bathrooms, but perfectly functional and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and piping hot.

We paid £60 single occupancy, and were very pleased for the price. Helen was welcoming and service all round was very efficient. We would like to return in (hopefully) better weather - I would only say that if you come for the local culinary delights, avoid Sunday evenings as there is very little open.

Thoroughly recommend The Cliffe Hotel, however.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you all again one day - when the sun shines 'Ludlow is Lovely'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
844 reviews
4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing